Shipwreck


Shipwreck

Shipwreck

Upon the crests,
Through wild swells,
A plunge onto reef.

Drenched in biting waves:
sails shred to rags,
deck reduced to splinters.

Wind tossed sideways.
An intoxicated stagger.
A drop into a flume.

A blackened sky
blinked like aflare
of plasmic streams.

Moaning angels wais
as haven’s structure
fragment into tribulation.

Elaborate ferocity.
A drowning grave.
Unplanned evacuation.

Countless souls
will never recapitulate:
no more to hearth or lodge.

But for one, vicissitude,
unknown loneliness,
perhaps an ounce of heroism.

Beneath a sopping sky,
upon a ship that spins,
life slips out at sea.

*************

I wrote this for:

challenge – “shipwreck.”

Also posted on:

The Gooseberry Garden
Poetry Picnic Week 17:Photos, Nostalgia, Memories, and Families

The picture is from:

http://www.ewallpapers.eu/view_wallpaper/shipwreck-1280-800-1680.html

I wish I knew more about it. It’s very cool.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on August 27, 2011, in Poetry, Sunday Scribblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 15 Comments.

  1. ..its beautiful…thanks so much for sharing!

  2. I am always floored by the imagery in your poetry. Awsome!

    Thank you for sharing it.

  3. the last line holds so much drama on pins and needles.great write,Tammy

  4. reminds me of the titanic :( lives lost at sea, horrendous!!!
    enjoy gooseberry day!

    http://lynnaima.wordpress.com/2011/12/08/belly-of-the-beast/

  5. Hello.
    WoW! Vivid write of shipwreck & lost lives. I agree with Life: Between the lines…very Titanic-like.
    Awesome imagery!
    Thanks for sharing & visiting. I appreciate the comment.

    For ref:
    On This Orange-Hued Day

  6. life slips out at the sea, amazing line.
    :)

  7. Quite a portrait you painted here: The tragedy at sea. Brilliant.

  8. A great set of haiku in which you tell a whole story. Thank you for sharing this.

  9. Oops… In my mind, I commented last night.
    This is really scary and kept my heart racing!
    That picture and your words are perfect together.

  10. A fine poem indeed. Love the line “An intoxicated stagger.” I find it rich with meaning and beauty in simplicity–very imaginative in the context you’ve placed it poetically. Lovely!

  11. vivid imagery.
    keep the magic of your writing alive.
    :)

  12. A tinge of sadness dectected. The ending bit struck me the most –
    Beneath a sopping sky,
    upon a ship that spins,
    life slips out at sea.

    It kind of depicts life lost at sea but a clever way to describe two actions – to go out and to be lost. Well done!

  13. Wonderful and your use of words, amazing!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,963 other followers

