Red Time


Red Time

If time were red, could it be mapped? How would we find tomorrow?
Would the surface climb be as steep as Mount Kilimanjaro?
Could we race upon its surface? Or slide down a sheer incline?
Would shadows hide pernicious years when suns won’t rise and shine?
If time were mapped like paths in space, could we go back and forth?
In terms of time, what relates to up/down East/ West, South/ North?
We’ve heard of worm-holes and black holes, where space is brutalized.
In terms of time, will this scheme apply? Can a plan be utilized?
If time were red and twisted, could we share another day,
with someone we love and miss? Could the heartache ever go away?

*************

Written for:


http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com/  “tomorrow”

Also Posted for:

Theme Thursday

Theme Thursday for November 24, 2011 – TOMORROW

I made the map on MATLAB:

[X,Y] = meshgrid(-8:.5:8);
R = sqrt(X.^2 + Y.^2) + eps;
Z = sin(R)./R;
mesh(X,Y,Z,'EdgeColor','black')
surf(X,Y,Z,'FaceColor','red','EdgeColor','none')
camlight left; lighting phong
xlabel('past');
ylabel('present');
zlabel('future');
whitebg([0.7,0.4,0.6]);
set(gcf,'Color',[0.7,0.3,0.5]);
Plus, I rotated AZ -36  El 58
About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on September 4, 2011, in Poetry, Sunday Scribblings, Theme Thursday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. This fascinates me. Last year at NV Museum of Art we had an exhibit by a local artist, a mathmetician, who created a software program in which he inputs equations for color and line and prints the most incredible images. Math is so foreign to me. The walls of the small gallery which held the installation were covered with equations (and of course, the art). When I toured school children in that exhibit, I quaked…they understood so much more than I did. Really fun. I love the intersection of art and math, right and left brain logic!

  2. Big, big questions that make my head dizzy..but in a good way..perhaps simply..can you find something..somebody.. you have lost..I surely hope so..Jae

    • I’m trying to take all the math and science about time and space, and then, really as humans, we are all hurt by a loss, and maybe that’s really the only reason we look into time and space?

  3. I love the thought of finding tomorrow on a map. A never-ending journey!

  4. A map is a good thing, but you would completely have to create it. For we never reach tomorrow, it comes, but then… tomorrow is always a day away? Perhaps we could put a pin in it and make it stay put? I like the idea of “red.”

  5. My God woman this is amazing. Why specifically is it a bell-shape curve like that?

  6. Very cool. I think I have MatLab somewhere, but I’ve never really played with it…

  7. Interesting, thought provoking and quite beautiful. Loved your Sunday Scribblings. :-)

  8. I thought this happened to be a wonderful poem, even though I poked fun on Twitter! Time is the great equalizer of everything and a mystery, an enigma to devour..

    I wish that If time were mapped like paths in space, we could go back and forth.

  9. Ah, it would be so wonderful to share even one more day with someone I love and miss! Your poem has me dreaming…

  10. Nice thats dope! concept screams at me and still comforts me..

    http://konkretekalam.tumblr.com/

    http://www.facebook.com/#!/NEW.ERA.ENTERTAINMENT.2010

  11. very cool…had a thought once on how time is mapped…we sat up all night talking about me and some friends, came up with some interesting theories…like your thoughts here…maybe a visit or two would be nice…smiles.

  12. I like to think of time as a state of mind. Bugger the clocks, it’s where your head is at that matters!

  13. I almost think that visiting them would be so heartbreaking because you would have to go through the loss all over again. Maybe it is a good thing that we cannot time travel. I like your map though. Looking at it through different angles is rather strange how it changes ones view, just like each tomorrow changes ones view.

    Thanks for playing in this weeks Tomorrow Theme Thursday. Hope you will play with us next week, this was fun having you join us.

    God bless.

  14. A time when red actually made me sad. Nicely written.

  15. Neat concept. And that’s a really good question. If time did had directions then we could go back and forth, just like a time machine. But time is just time- a moment in the present. Time lost will always be in the past, and time to be seen remains unknown in the future.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,741 other followers

