Lunatics


Alice in Wonderland by YukiValentine

Lunatics

a grin without a cat
is not a cat without a grin
in a world without sadness
where colors rule and
you care not
where I go while
I care much
to detain you
for your knowledge
binds me to this
upsidedown world
you are everywhere and
there is anywhere
you find cheeses
shaped like faces
and then i’m
suddenly called mad
by mates who
regularly escape
from the local
lunatic asylum
though they should be
sitting in the lounge
solving riddles and puzzles
playing checkers and bridge
on a competitive level
throwing red colored
jello into each other’s
grizzeled hair
intimidating the
sassy unfortunate inmates
who cannot wait
their turns on
the croquet field
and then slam balls
into each others heads
with confusing fury
and no account
for the proper
rules of safety
eating wild mushrooms
falling out of
an orange sapped tree
right onto my head
as i manage to hold
onto the tail
of my everpresent
cheerful mentor

*******************

Written for:

Poetry Blogroll Midnight Snack Prompt 006.

Also posted on:


dversepoets.com Meeting The Bar Critique and Craft – Conflation  by emmett.

Also posted on:


About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on October 25, 2011, in D’verse Poets Pub, One Single Impression, Poetry, Poets United, Poets United Midnight Snack and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 28 Comments.

  1. Love this poem. The work of an actual writer, a feeler and painter of emotions with verbal medium. Great work. -Brad

  2. ha…fun dip into the asylum…throwing jello and playing croquet…is the cat really there? smiles.

  3. haha – love the scene in the local lunatic asylum…a certain madness is always welcome…smiles

  4. So you’ve met my family?! Seriously, this rocked! Loved this and am looking forward to more!

  5. I am reading what poets can do tonight. I am amazed.

  6. Love Alice, Love Crazy, hence…you had a winner here before I even started! Also got my copy of Inspiration Speaks today….awesome work there too! Double high fives today!

  7. Very nice job, excellent piece. I love poems that write down the page, just adds an extra dimension to the work itself- yeah, I know it’s aesthetic, but it also offers a different way to read, which I’m totally down with. Great read, thanks

  8. Many years ago, before they decentralized psych hospitals, I was a student nurse at Patton State Hospital in San Bernadino. At the time it was a city, 5000+ patients. This is a great, free-slowing stream of consciousness that we all engage in and if we pay attention to it, I think we all qualify as a bit crazy. BTW, Alice in Wonderland terrified me when I was little. Probably grounds for therapy. :0)

  9. Excellent write and as a psche nurse I recognise its relevance – in all of us! Once again, excellent write!

    Anna :o]

  10. i like the imaginative journey to the inmates mind and place…holding on to a cheerful mentor sounds good to me ~

  11. I printed this poem and read it several times before commenting. I am amazed at the way you have cascaded your words down the page, almost tumbling over themselves. The images are vivid, sharp and very concrete. “,,,throwing red colored jello into each other’s grizzled hair…”
    “…you find cheeses shaped liked faces…” sassy unfortunate inmates who cannot wait their turns on the croquet field and then slam balls into each other’s heads…”

    I love this poem. Thanks for writing it

    Namaste………..cj

  12. This just picked up speed and craziness as we tumbled along… glad we had the tail to hold on to! :)

  13. I wish I were too! I just found dVerse today, and I am already in love. A poetry site where there are quality poems to read and learn from. Who Knew?

    ((Hugs)) right back to you.

  14. Intense… love the pac and lovely images.

  15. This is my favorite of yours! From the imagery to the concepts it’s just fantastic. Yeah, I read it three times and it’s true, I loved it.

  16. Cringed at the crazy world of lunatics. The closest I got was when confronted by an employee, a schizo case compounded with drug abuse tendencies. Nothing untoward happened but frightening when it happened! Excellent piece!

    Hank

  17. We’re all mad here.

    Wonderful!

  18. Like Anna, I have to say this is now a favorite–very expressive and vivid and perfectly constructed for that down the rabbit hole and through the looking glass world to be all too real. Really a fine poem, and reality and unreality are so conflated I defy anyone to separate them out. Loved it.

    • I’m glad that you see this as a conflation. I actually wrote it a day or two before the prompt, and hoped it fit the “assignment.”
      Thanks for your kind words.

  19. Oh my gosh, this is amazing nonsense-clarity. I love. :)

    This is my favorite part:

    “suddenly called mad
    by mates who
    regularly escape
    from the local
    lunatic asylum”

    I grinned like “crazy” through the whole thing, especially wide at the end where you wrote “everpresent cheerful mentor.” Excellent piece.

  20. You were right. I loved it!

  21. How beautiful.. upside down.. wow!!!!

  22. So descriptive and imaginative. Enjoyed every verse in this poem.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,742 other followers

