crossroads of a thousand trees


Crossroads After a Night of Rain

crossroads of a thousand trees

crossroads of a thousand trees
where books reverberate
and latent energy
produces armor in a furnace

better to keep intuition
where the body has no role
so your mind is in your mouth
and your weapon rests below your hip

overshadowed
challenged by filtrated light
faulty enough to convey meaning
through the meandering boughs

intervention:
listening to the familiar
torture:
converted revolution

dead scent of fate
tired and disappointed
standing
in the crossroads of the trees

**************************

Written  for:

Prompt: Standing at the crossroads  –  Prompt # 136

Photo Credit: @martin-liebermann.de

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on December 18, 2011, in Carry On Tuesday, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. so your mind is in your mouth…… Oh the implications there!

    you have meaning when overshadowed …… this was a dominant line1

    and your weapon rests below your hip……. pick me up off the floor I am still laughing!

    faulty enough to convey meaning …….a bit like the first one

    dead scent of fate …… Yes we kind of know when this comes along.

    This is one of the first times (Hows THAT for IRONIC?) that I have read something that brings about varying senses and emotions. (Mainly laughter as that is the way me mind works)

    Thank you so much for passing by me blog.
    ironic is a song sung by some woman called alana morrisette.
    at the cross roadsall can be black and white it is not until we make a move in whatever direction that the path becomes clearer!
    Here endth the lesson!

  2. Anything that gets me to write such a long comment with more than 5 words has gotta be good!………..

  3. I like the shot as well as the poem. Thanks for your visit to my blog.

    • Hello,

      thank you for choosing my image “Crossroads” to illustrate your poem. Also, thanks for your effort to link and credit the image – most people just don’t care for the authors that produce them.

      But you credited the wrong author – “Gypsy Magic” has taken the image from me without my consent and also has withheld the due credit to me.

      You can see my original here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/liebermann/580181284/

      Please correct the photo credit to http://www.martin-liebermann.de, you might also link to the image page on flickr.com

      You are also welcome to use those of my images that are under a CC license – see my flickr.com pages – as long as you give proper credit.

      Kind regards

      Martin Liebermann

  4. beautiful imaginations.

  5. ‘Your weapon rests below your hip’ great line! Filled with all kinds of images. Great picture too.

  6. A thousand trees
    A thousand lives
    a thousand lies
    hidden in the shade

  7. great write! brings to memory lots of soles at the crossroads.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,890 other followers

