altered states


Sanctuary

altered states

after a day of screaming
silence, massacred
interventions eliminated
rather than respond
shut down external information
balance perception
flutter in amniotic fluid
covered in crystallized capsule
anesthetic, analgesic psychosis
brittle insanity
extricated hallucinations
ultimate delirium
dulled disorientation
indecisive thinking
confused consciousness
brittle insanity
extricated hallucinations
contradistinctive self

**************************

Written for:

Magpie Tales – Mag 110

Also posted on:

A is for APPRECIATION

Photo Credit:  alexstoddard

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 22, 2012, in ABC wednesday, Magpie Tales, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 30 Comments.

  1. I really like “brittle insanity.”

  2. Great take on the prompt. I think this about sums it up-

    rather than respond
    shut down external information

  3. oy. a dangerous precipice…when we close out the world yet still our hearts hurt filled with want….

  4. I also like brittle insanity. I never saw that movie so, don’t know what it’s about. Sounds like a nightmare. Great writing whatever it is.

  5. A place to recoup- great take on prompt! K.

  6. zongrik – this poem sounds how a baby must feel being born,
    maybe a tad more gentle, maybe. mad-creative.

  7. The sounds of silence that are so welcomed after trauma…. thank you for sharing this powerfully, invasive imagery, Zongrik. definitely *in your face* !! =D

  8. So many big words…my brain could barely keep up. But I think your poem pairs brilliantly with the image because, ultimately, you write out (and fire off) desperation. Well done.

  9. Overload my senses
    Shatter well expectations
    Take me where you live

  10. Hard-hitting and powerful.
    Good response to the prompt.

    =)

  11. Gday Zong’ , i think there are many people in the world who would love to return to the “amniotic fluid”, ahhh, Oceania, the garden of Eden, where all my needs are instantly met and the tension is released. I followed the point of light coming out, so now i suppose i should follow the darkness in order to get back in ! . Thanks for the hint.

  12. Your poem helps me to understand the tormented mind of a close family member. It seems like sudden onset but now I realize it has been a long time evolving. I’m trying to catch up, to understand…..

    Thank you for this.

  13. This sounds like the perfect therapy. Some unusual words here – ‘contradistinctive’ was a new one on me, but I like the sound and the meaning it conveys.

  14. It’s like underwater “stream” of consciousness! ha ha

  15. We only see it from our point of view, not the baby’s! It appears to be so traumatic when baby is pushed out into the world. You conveyed it very well in your verse! Great write!

    Hank

  16. love it – so psychiatric!

  17. wow, after all those feelings, submersing oneself under water would be serenity, I could feel all of this pain

  18. Wow, taking no prisoners, eh? Good one.

  19. My mind is spinning!

  20. I could feel this, except rather than amniotic fluid, for me it would be wine. Great job showing the effects of the weight of the day.

  21. You’ve been reading my diary again…

  22. “brittle insanity” – and “amniotic fluid” – oh yes, I hear this, loud and clear and as Tess said, you’ve been reading her diary and maybe my mail … great take on this interesting artwork, truly …

    http://nsaynne.wordpress.com/2012/04/27/living-with-a-wolf/

  23. i wish i could “shut down external information”

  24. Sounds like a day in the life of a teacher.

    Leslie
    abcw team

  25. sounds like my quiet time, or when i’m too sleepy.:p

  26. Wow- very intense.

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  27. Wonderful. Makes me wonder if you’ve heard the album Altered States.

    Chris H
    ABC Wednesday
    A is for Avogadro’s Number

  28. Intense indeed!

    Aero 360’s Arrows
    Rose, ABC Wednesday Team.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,905 other followers

