space ship tanka


XCOR suborbital spacecraft

space ship tanka

my own little ship
travel into outer space
fantastic landscape
hypersonic travelling
transatmospheric spacecraft

*****************

Written for:

Sensational Haiku Wednesday

This week’s theme is: Landscape

Also Posted on:

Wordless Wednesday

Also posted on:

OpenLinkNight — week 46

Also posted on:

X is For (Xcor)

This week, I was fortunate enough to attend the Space Craft Technology Expo at the Los Angeles Convention Center.

I went on a Press pass because I have a column on Nanotechnology now (see the right side of my page, there’s a link.) My column is writing poetry. XCOR had an interesting of their suborbital spacecraft. I want one. But you can buy a ride into orbit. Check out their website. It’s amazing that you can get into space now, and not be a superman astronaut. The spacecraft can be sued for payloads and experiments too, not just space travel. Seriously, check out their website, if you ever wanted to go into space, you can save up and go now!

Photo credit:  Bat-Ami Gordin  © 2012 all rights reserved, credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on May 15, 2012, in Poetry, Sensational Haiku Wednesday, wordless wednesday, You Know that Blog and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 45 Comments.

  1. The expo must have been great fun. I love how the ship in your picture looks like a stingray. Nice homage in verse.

  2. Thanks for sharing…it must have been very exciting for you to be there.
    Peace and love,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  3. This is great ~ but Haiku Sensational may not accept it because it is not 3-5-7 haiku ~ just a thought ~ thanks, namaste, ^_^

  4. Wow! This is an intense piece, lovely to read…its a pleasure to meet you and read your work love, thank you for the comment about the verification too, wasn’t aware it was on lol

    I look forward to reading more of your work :)

  5. Wow quite the sight, being able to go into space would be fun but I’d prob be too chicken to do it. Nanotechnology is really taking hold, quite scary what can be done with it in the wrong hands, but alot of benefits to it too.

  6. hobgoblin2011

    I love haiku and tanka. Actually , while I do enjoy the traditional versions, I have to admit I love the way modern authors are using the forms, as the word choice is greatly expanded and it seems, to me anyhow, that the author’s voice is able to come out more. This is a very good modern tanka. I can’t tell you how much i like big words in this form. i’ve written some that are only 5 words long before. I’m kind of a nut like that though. But hypersonic and transatmospheric are great, not only for fitting into my little quirk parameters, but because those words fit perfectly into the context here. Anyhow, very cool. Thanks

  7. Zongrik!!! That’s craziness!! It totally makes me think of the movie “Total Recall,” though with Arnold Schwarzen….blah blah can’t spell it but you know who I mean!! Wonderful tanka tribute toward space tripping!! :)

  8. That is very cool!! Thanks for sharing :)

  9. very cool… smiles

  10. Looks like it would be a great place to visit.

    Royalegacy Reviews and More

  11. That’s so cool! Thanks for stopping by my blog! =)

  12. Cool. That would be fun to fly in.

  13. Ingenious use of Haiku.

  14. that is very cool…can you image being able to go up into space whenever you wanted…if only i could afford one…smiles…

  15. It would be nice to own a space ship.

    Great work here with the shorter form.

  16. poemsofhateandhope

    Is that the passenger space ship?? Looks cool…and your words….love how you claim it for our own!.. almost as if you could have it parked on your drive next to your car! cool tanka (I love the word tanka too- tanka tanka tanka)

  17. Anne Katherine

    What kind of trip is this referring to….I myself would love to do some hypersonic travelling!

  18. That is one cool pic!
    Lovely tanka to go with it!

  19. Cool, you know what’s wired i just downloaded the NASA app. and than I came to read your tanka, and look what I see and read. wow #turth

  20. Oh, I’m lucky to live close to the Huntsville space museum. I’ve been several times, very fascinating.

    If you get to go to space… bring your camera.

  21. I am always amazed at how you blend poetry and science ~ That is some spacecraft ~

  22. I guess it’s true, money can literally buy anything – even a trip to space. How cool would that be? “Big words” are tough to utilize in haiku form, well done.

  23. Cool tanka, appealed to the inner sci-fi fan in me as these things gradually become reality…

  24. Seriously awesome, I am going to save now :).

  25. ah would be great to be able to travel with this into outer space..maybe one day everyone will have one in their garage…who knows..

  26. It would be a fantastic trip. Trans- and hyper- gives a feeling of transformation once such a trip is embarked upon, and speed and expanse, and just beyond normal experience.

  27. Love how you “married” the technical aspects of one website with this blog! Nice. Only problem with outer space is it’s expensive, ultimately for the very rich… and when it’s done, it’s done. I’d rather build a school or buy Kindles for underprivileged kids. Oh, my bleeding heart!!! Great poem about an unusual experience! Amy

    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/05/29/singing-standards-dverse-with-song/

  28. Going into space? That’s a tall order, Tammy! Loads of cash to strew around that means! A tanka nicely done,Ma’am!

    Hank

  29. I can’t afford one of those yet, but I’m saving up! Nice post, Zongrik!

  30. 1emeraldcity

    How I’d love to be aboard that craft and see the wonders of space with you, and others, Tammy! Nice tanka!

  31. We’ll master the intricacies of outer space long before we get anywhere with inner space, I think. It *is* cool to see this sort of thing, and nice use of the tanka form to interpret the phenomenon.

  32. Enjoyed your Tanka. I think about space a lot. I often wonder at the vastness of the universe and the number of stars and we circle are small one at the edge of our galaxy. Wow.

  33. hypercryptical

    Love to go!

    Anna :o]

  34. very,very cool..one of your loves too!

  35. heard of something like this for the first time. thanks for sharing it.http://www.alternador.org

  36. That’s a nifty little vehicle!
    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  37. That looks a super space vehicle, sleek.
    Joy – ABC Team

  38. My friend,
    What a picture!! First time I have ever seen this. Will love to have a ride (smile). Thanks for sharing.

  39. ! It is so . . . CUTE!

  40. Great post for X week. Carver, ABC Wed. Team

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,912 other followers

