neither good nor bad


Stairs at Dusk

neither good nor bad

with a jump,
you’ll get down fast
physics takes over
a dangerous trick

steps are slow
steps are quiet
steps are neither good nor bad
indifferent stones

**************************

Written for:

Magpie Tales – Mag 119

Image credit:  Richmond Virginia Museum of Fine Arts – Fragment of Edward Hopper’s, “House at Dusk” (1935)

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on May 27, 2012, in Magpie Tales, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. A step by step analysis of steps. I like it.

  2. I agree :) Step by step!

  3. I love how you went in a different direction with this! Very creative. BTW… thanks for visiting my blog and commenting.

  4. Wow…I never saw that Hopper before. Great poem to match.

  5. gailatthefarm

    I did feel a cold indifference in this painting. I don’t think it would be one I chose to purchase. Thanks for stopping by.

  6. You cleverly isolated part of it and came up with a gem,Tammy! How nice,and how observant. I didn’t quite notice the steps until you’ve separated it that way. That’s the mark of a seasoned poet that you are. You get the details right! Great write Ma’am!

    Hank

  7. not one to like a fall, I shy from jumping down stairs anymore…

    Wander

  8. I see what you mean about taking 1/8th part – Good spot,picking up on the steps.

  9. I like the focus. Nice write.

  10. ha…jump and you may never have to worry about steps again…steps are neither good or bad…i like that…we take many a step every day….

  11. enjoyed the mysterious and wise quality.

  12. nice shrinking of the image to accomate your words- no mis-step here!

  13. excellent treatment of the image=no mis-step here!

  14. I like how you focused in on one part of the picture. Very cool. This was a tight write-no wasted words. It felt sort of mysteriously eerie to me.

  15. Escalator please?

  16. I like the last line indifferent stones, it kinda of sum it up for me and gave me an understanding why steps are not the same.

  17. I enjoyed the rise and the run of your poem, nice easy steps. Thank you for sharing, Zongrik. An interesting perspective. =D

  18. I like the reference to Physics….!!

    discontent

  19. I like how tou brought the steps to life, Zongrik

  20. I saw a deeper suggestion in this. Your line, “steps are neither good nor bad
    indifferent stones” is powerful and, all light-hearted comments aside, invokes images of a pained heart…..

  21. Steps always better and safer… but sometimes u just gotta jump i think!
    Window to the other side

  22. Nice…I like the way you concentrate on the steps…powerful in its brevity…

  23. i like that! steps are neither good nor bad

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,890 other followers

