where are the Koi


Redon Odilon Ophelia

where are the Koi

where are the Koi
those patterns of black and red
glistening in rotation
waiting for catch-up
rigorous
active

working
hooking
line and pole

what is still where
still here
flashy encounters
in happiness
friendly exploits
mineral young
animal old

working
hooking
line and pole

wars begin
on the other side
of the sea
blocked ears
waiting
tears from the Koi

**************************

Hear this on chirbit

**************************

Written for:

Magpie Tales – Mag 124

Image credit:  canvaz.com

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on July 2, 2012, in Magpie Tales, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. I just couldn’t resist another piece of Chirbit. You’re voice is very smooth indeed!

  2. tears from the koi…a big difference between a day fishing and a day at war….nice ma’am…

  3. I like that you began and ended with the koi.
    Nice.

    =)

  4. At least the Koi know to cry, have a heart…so much to think about here, Tammy.

  5. I finally have a moment and hooked up the amplifier to the computer. I JUST LOVE hearing you read your poem…am heading back to listen to the others !
    Thank you…what a wonderful idea.

    I already told you I love the written word, especially poems, read out loud. This is delightful to listen to !☺♥

    Peace,
    Siggi in Doweast Maine

  6. I love Koi. They truly are so soothing to watch. I agree with Brian, big difference in a day of fishing and a day of war. Koi tears, how sad.

  7. As a Pisces, I immediately felt at home with your koi – tears and all! :)

  8. If only the the war machine could be lined up in beautiful colors just only to be admired like we placed the Koi in the water it would be a whole lot better for mankind. Nice verse Tammy!

    Hank

  9. Like a call to some far gods of legend! Haunting beauty!

  10. Oh my, that’s quite profound. Your refrain stanza works well, and I really like the ‘mineral young/ animal old’

  11. Loved the chirbit..so personal, comes alive..I feel the heartbeat and tears in this one…

  12. The koi make me think of children in this piece. This is beautiful “mineral young, animal old”.

  13. No need to be, er, coy. It’s a beautiful post.

  14. Lovely reading of your own work. I’m fascinated to see how much it helps with the interpretation too. You wrote it – so you know how it should sound. gret idea.

  15. “mineral young, animal old…” “wars begin on the other side of the sea” “tears of the Koi”….beautiful, really beautiful.

  16. One of the most unique poems this week ~~~ enjoyed this immensely … also enjoyed hearing you read it!!

  17. hypercryptical

    Loved listening to you reading your work – lovely write.

    Anna :o]

  18. I really like this , Zong ‘ , it reminds me of watching an Avoriginal man spearing fish from the prow of a dingy, they know exactly bow much to allow for the refraction of light as they hurl their thunderbolts at the flashing colours. Amazing, completely non rational, instinctual. Maybe even transcendent. Thanks

  19. “tears from the Koi” a perfect ending and i loved your reading!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,846 other followers

