Sonnet 42


Black hole shreds star, sparking gamma ray flash

Sonnet XLII

The black hole’s great singularity tow
draws everything into its gravity
cauldron. Pay close attention to it grow.
Since collapsing vigorous cavity
is so different from any explosive,
yet cosmic event that’s been seen before,
annihilation will seem corrosive.
Detectives troll the universe for more
gamma ray bursts. All of the light is sucked
in its massive gravitational pull.
A tidal disruption, an implied duct,
insatiable, and never to get full.
Galaxies harbor black holes in their heart
where mid-sized stars existed at its start.

**************************

Hear this on chirbit

**************************

Posted for:

OpenLinkNight ~ Week 55

Photo credit:  NASA handout illustration of a growing supermassive black hole

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on July 31, 2012, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry, Sonnets and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 31 Comments.

  1. About as good as cosmic poetry gets.

  2. woot woot science sonnets again…black holes are rather fascinating…while outlandish…the movie black hole first caught my attention to them as a kid….cool sonnet!

  3. Love poetry with an astronomical theme :)

    Well done.

  4. No one knows this stuff and can relate it poetically like you can, Tammy. And in sonnet form, at that! Great job! :) ~ j

  5. Star shredder-never thought of it that way in regards to black holes, but that would seem befitting!

  6. I agree with Joseph Hesch and my favorite words…”star shredder”…just wonderful image.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  7. Ooops…it’s “shreds star”… mental pause…didn’t double check…sorry…love the image. I didn’t get the photo with the email…and “Black hole shreds star….” was there in place of it.
    Captured my imagination immediately.
    Peace,
    Siggi

  8. Awesome! I love the reading! You have a wonderful clear voice and it brings the poem to life! Excellent write and great reading!

  9. Uneven Stephen

    Stunning images. Those final two lines are powerful. I also like the sound of “detectives troll the universe”.

  10. A very interesting poem and beautiful picture! I love the astronomical theme.

    *I nixed word verification so feel free to stop by!

  11. I always enjoy your cosmic poems…thought of you last week when I drove through your area going up and down 395. Think I’m getting a bit old for that drive. I’m always in a hurry to get there or get home…maybe someday I’ll take the long way through your side of the desert.

  12. poemsofhateandhope

    There’s something amazing about the way you take ‘science’ and then paint it into a traditional form like the sonnet!…. I love black holes, the thought of it, the matter being sucked in and then….what’s on the the other side? This poem made me think about all those things! Great work

  13. Great, wonderful images of outer space and such a lovely voice. Wonderful write Tammy!

    Hank

  14. Nice capture of the cosmic event….and great poetry form too ~

  15. Really enjoying your sonnet series

  16. I love the last two lines best. The entire poem is filled with imagry..almost a little frightening…underscoring a dark mysterious journey and trap. I really liked this one!

  17. perhaps they are tidal, black holes, stars, yin, yang of the same energy?

    • Is yin/yang something “real” or a semantically philosophical delineation between natural polar opposites? If the answer is yes (and that would be my answer) then the answer to your question is yes. Stars and black holes are yin and yang. Of course, as you get deeper into it, yang is male, yang is light, yin is female, yin is dark. So the black holes are female, and the stars are male, and the black hole sucks in the stars, like the female sucks in the male, so really, there’s a lot of poetry you can make out of this.

  18. oh how i love your galactic sonnets that always point to a bit more as well

  19. An awesome subject, this. Bravely taken on and engagingly crafted.

  20. I enjoyed your sonnet on black holes. They are fascinating when you think about them. Well done – the last two lines are great.

  21. These things are mysterious and fascinating. Love your reading. :)

  22. Poetry and science – perfect !

  23. You have theee
    best American Accent !!!

  24. Quite the quest you take us on, if I saw one open up near me, I might jump through just to see what I could see.

  25. This really works so well. Very cool choice in words here, love the interconnections between the lines and the information/science merging with art. It’s also like an observation of one standing just outside its pull watching up close and capturing every detail along the way. Great write. Thanks

  26. Bat-ami, you know your poem was featured on Zeit, an iPad zine. K.

  27. Love your out-of-this-world poems…I’m so fascinated by black holes. You have a very unique viewpoint to write from that few do…it’s so entertaining.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,890 other followers

