dark night, red light


Sargent, John Singer, A Dinner Table at Night, 1884

dark night, red light

dark night
red light
saxophone hums
days of films
nights of jazz
steady neon haze

simple-role playing
it’s a date
plan the air
thicken the stage

**************************

Hear this on chirbit

**************************

Posted for:

Written for:

Magpie Tales – Mag 129

Also posted on:

D is for DENISE

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on August 5, 2012, in ABC wednesday, Magpie Tales, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. you really caught the mood in this painting.

  2. a little role playing can lead to quite the excitement you know…smiles.

  3. Haha… and what else were they going to get up to in the dark, sultry night, I wonder. Reminded me of New Orleans for some reason. (The Jazz maybe)

  4. The ambience is perfect, just lead the way! Great write Tammy!

    Hank
    P/S Your comment was kind to the guy! I’ve decided to amend it a little at the end. Thanks

  5. Oh, yes. Straight out of a 1940’s / ’50s set. Smokin’!

  6. You set the mood well. I enjoyed hearing you read it too!

  7. I like the thicken the stage….you captured the mood of this ~

  8. I liked both the painting and poem … with voice. And yes, nothing like a late night at a jazz club. Sax … Coltrane anyone?

  9. Coltrane would be perfect. I love the “mood indigo” you’ve created here, Zongrik. (Duke Ellington). Sounds like a night out! Thank you for sharing this. =D

  10. I like this ” planning the air ” concept, Zongreco !

  11. I like it … especially the “jazz.” I did a painting (1963) once titled “The 5 Spot.” The 5 Spot was Thelonius Monk’s place in the Viilage. My painting was abstract done in reds and purples. You words make me think of it.

  12. I love that you included music…. “saxophone hums” Sounds so soothing

  13. Loved hearing you read it…also loved how you heard music in the painting…Nice work!

  14. I love “plan the air, thicken the stage”…

  15. I can hear the saxophone…

    =)

  16. Ths captured a mood hinted at by the painting, but transposed into a later time of red lights. jazz, saxophones. Well done.

  17. …and what an interesting stage it is I’m know! I can even hear the music flowing….

  18. Oh, oh, oh I enjoyed this! Could sink right into the mood, the music, the night.

  19. Nice. Mood, phrasings, the tech you used to bring it all to life…I enjoyed it♫

  20. Want to snap my fingers.

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  21. Very rich and dramatic.

  22. Romantic. Catching up With ABC.

    Daredevil Diva
    Rose, ABC Wednesday Team

  23. Sargent’s paintings are certainly memorable. Kate, ABC team

  24. great write – I could see, hear and feel the entire day….

  25. Oh, very classy scenery. :) I felt like I was in an Audrey Hepburn film.

  26. I like this so much. Carver, ABC Wed. Team

  27. Dear friend,
    You are a very talented writer. You touched my emotions. Thanks for sharing.

  28. Such a pretty painting. So realistic… I love it

  29. Cool sophistication …..
    You really ‘wove the mood’ so effectively. (I sometimes enjoy listening to smooth jazz when I write.) Peace! :)

  30. I like this alot! Can hear it…loud and clear and neon!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,741 other followers

