The Language of Chocolate


Chocolate Drops

Chocolate Drops


The Language of Chocolate

Tear drops of chocolate smeared in my ear –
extraordinary, epicurian embraces
melt my eyeballs, dissolve blissfully,
tasty as they roll in my avaricious pockets,
auditory melting on the granite surfaced table.

I long to covet them with genitalia:
delusionary cure-all, clearly, an exacerbated desire.
Appreciated gourmet of flatulent aroma:
rejuvenate, tone, percolate pock scars — abounding,
left dry, to fight off ants, and terrify hungry bees.

**************************

Hear this on Sound Cloud

**************************

Written for:

Synesthesia–Sensory Confusion, or…?

Victoria C. Slotto prompts us to “…play around with mixing up those senses. It’s not necessary to write a complete poem in synesthesia, just include an incident in which you invite your readers to taste, or see, or hear, or touch, or smell something that defies the sense you are using.”

Image Credit: Bat-Ami Gordin  © 2013 all rights reserved, credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on May 30, 2013, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 20 Comments.

  1. ahem…haha…chocolate and genetalia….ha..ahem…well it can surely be fun…i draw the line at chocolate farts….the is not really chocolate…ha….wow…you took it and ran for sure…

  2. Schweeeet !!! As I read this I am eating a truffle that tastes like chocolate mousse !!! So your hitting below the belt into an ancient weakness in the first place, “melt my eyeballs, dissolve blissfully,tasty as they roll in my avaricious pockets,” I love that feeling !! Great word associations, your “Language of Chocolate” walks a tastefully poetic high wire, full of verve!!

  3. mmm….I want some chocolates right now to melt my eyeballs ~ I especially thought that last line terrific Tammy ~

  4. This leaves me craving chocolate….

  5. 1emeraldcity

    All I would add…is whipped cream…yummo poem

  6. Well the title had me and yes very yummy indeed…I’m going to buy some chocolate now!

  7. Oh my goodness! Were we ever on the same page! :) This was great. I loved every word.

  8. Wow, Tammy. This is a “read it again” kind of poem. So many sensory enticements, edgy and provocative. Gourmet of flatulent aroma, however…maybe not so tempting.

  9. haha…chocolate has its own voice and language for sure…and sometimes makes us do crazy things…so..ha…smiles…good one..

  10. As a chocoholic I loved this. Wonderful wordplay in this. -Mike

  11. Anything with chocolate has to be great… Loved it, and hearing you read it just made it better. :-)

  12. A perfect subject for the prompt. Nicely done, Tammy!

  13. This is a WOW poem – I think, as a chocoholic, that I understand it, but who cares. Death by chocolate, tis to be desired.

  14. “Avaricious pockets” – I just love the sounds and images. I guess you’ll have us all putting on a few lbs!

  15. Who knew chocolate could be so much more than a delectable addiction? Fun.

  16. ..aww… we do have this chocolate connections in us… loved it… smiles…

  17. Chocolate anybody? Tempting! I really liked hearing you read it.

  18. mmmh chocolate… tasty sounds and images – what a great piece

  19. oh now this one had me in splits!! wrong ends of wrong sensory releases! :)

  20. I like how you coupled chocolate and genitalia in such an explicit way! That’s daring and sweet at the same time. Bon appétit!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,963 other followers

