Midnight Cowboy — A Quick Review


spoiler alert: it's not a happy ending

spoiler alert: it’s not a happy ending

Midnight Cowboy — A Quick Review

drawn to urban utopia,
world of other people’s affairs.
out of Texas, homegrown souls –
los hombres of loneliness.

man spree. textured long limbs.
ruddy, cocky, snap the tongue.
silly sod with stupid laugh.
unaffected country man.

he painted New York –
hypothetical trust.
that’s his style — innocence,
no matter how it’s tolerated.

kind friend or was it pity?
same disease phase; containment.
taste of humiliation and despair.
more rotten than downtown Bangkok.

whores to comfort women –
men more putrid than garbage .
stripped of cowboy costume.
(it’s not a happy ending.)

**************************

Hear this on Sound Cloud

**************************

Written for:

Poetics ~ Cowboy Up

Today, Shanyn Silinski prompts us to a cowboy poem. Does this count?

Image credits: The Grand Finale of Midnight Cowboy Pipalatree

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on August 10, 2013, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. with a name like ratso rizzo, what do you expect…smiles…def an interesting movie…and one i had not thought about in some time….

  2. Really good characterization. I don’t think I ever saw the movie but I got the picture.

  3. Midnight Cowboy, that summed it up for me, perfect ly

  4. Huh! It’s spot on Tammy! Very lurid as the subject entailed. A recent phenomena! Powerful words in grand style Ma’am! I like it.

    Hank

  5. I saw that when I was so young and recall how difficult it was for me to stay until the end. It was a rough emotional ride. Quite a walk down “memory lane”.

  6. That is not a happy ending for sure. I liked your usage of words and the punctuation to give a pause when you read the poem.

  7. haven’t seen the movie but def. sounds like i should check it out..

  8. Never saw the movie… but I’ve been warned. Urban cowboys live a rough life.. somehow through your words I could read this as a comment to men lost to aids… but that was just my mind wandering,

  9. Soundcloud is playing up at the moment, as I’ve tried to play the poem several times. I’m going to make a mental note to myself to come back again, as I don’t want to miss it.

  10. def a hard life gloried… nice capture

  11. I saw the movie a long while back, but your poem brings it ALL back

  12. Hmm… might have to watch the movie now.

  13. Seems like a sad and tragic ending for those lost cowboys ~ Thanks for sharing ~

  14. Snakypoet (Rosemary Nissen-Wade)

    Not a happy movie altogether – yet one worth remembering.

  15. Ah forgot about that movie, but your poem brought it back.. Great write and I like your versing. Thanks for joining in on the cowboy poetry prompt.

  16. Well said, Tammy. MC was a well done movie, but truly gritty, and way ahead of its time.

  17. Yeah not one for any cheer, that is for sure.

  18. I saw that movie when it first came out – and this brings it all back. Good one.

  19. Tammy, thanks for leaving this link when you commented on my cowboy poem! Never occurred to me to do something like this. Very inventive – insightful overview of the movie, which moved me to tears. Hoffman was (and continues to be) a revelation. Thank you, and best of luck to your son’s friend for the transition. Peace, Amy

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,735 other followers

