Sonnet XXVI


Sunset over Western South America

Sonnet XXVI

The light scatters in ways no one ever
conceived. The sun’s effects permanently
continue, and there’s no chance to sever
ourselves from power that radiantly
shines on horizon’s edge, for sunlight
is as diffuse as life on earth below.
In orbit, at a superlative height,
the landscape is of mountain and plateau.
Observe the graphic spectacle, more real
than anything a human can witness.
It’s a palace spinning like a Ferris-wheel,
from whence no one leaves, yet all must egress.
On the planet, darkness is divided
by rays of light the sun has provided.

*******************

NASA posted the picture above on the “Earth Observatory/Image of the Day Page.”

@NotAJoe on twitter tweeted the link. After viewing the image, I wrote the following haiku:

on the edge of space
sunlight lights the horizon
diffuse, like earthllife

Then I decided to write the sonnet I posted above. Check out the NASA link if you want to know more about it. The link discusses “the terminator.” Terminator is the changeover between day and night, as seen by someone in orbit.

Posted on:

Poet’s United

The Poetry Pantry Is Now Open! – #77

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 25, 2011, in Poetry, Sonnets and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 37 Comments.

  1. Beautiful sonnet! It’s ethereal in feel with just enough gravity to keep us grounded. I love this line: “It’s a palace spinning like a Ferris-wheel” The idea of the earth spinning like a Ferris wheel calls to mind the flutter I get during the spin. Great work!

  2. Thank you so much. This is the first comment on the first post of my first blog. Yay!!! {hugz}

  3. I love these themed sonnets, space is seriously inspiring, so easy to write sonnets about love and nature, but to pull them off about space, well, you’ve done yourself proud with all of these

  4. i would so love to see the earth from space…what an amazing sight it would be…lovely sonnet

  5. To know the Creator is everything. Your words paint a beautiful picture.

  6. Superb sonnet Tammy! // Peter.

  7. an amazing sonnet! really love the theme… brings light to the reader.

  8. Hey AstroPoet – This is brilliant and appeals to be superlatively! Love the wrap of your lines making the sonnet form feel so modern. Also the time turn into the final lines. Excellent stuff. Thanks for yours stops at my place too. Always enjoy your comments! Gay

  9. If they taught science in school using this poem, may more children would learn..
    this is a beautifully written piece..the picture is stunning..
    much enjoyed..

  10. A space sonnet– wonderful!! I l love the last two lines… deeper meanings there. Nice one shot!

  11. revealing the power and giving of the sun.

  12. I love the way you combine science and poetry, an unlikely marriage that you make beautiful.

  13. I think this is the first science poem that I have truly enjoyed 🙂 Thank you.

    My One Shot ~ A Poetic World

    • Poems are usually love poems and I love science. My science poems are love poems about the Sun, Earth, Jupiter, the Solar Panels, nanomanipulators, relativity etc.

  14. Loved the sonnet and then the Haiku was a treat..

    Shashi
    ॐ नमः शिवाय
    Om Namah Shivaya
    http://shadowdancingwithmind.blogspot.com/2011/07/whispers-cuckoos-song-and-smell-of-love.html

  15. Beautiful, Bat-Ami. I love the play of light and darkness and the unknown elements of the universe have such appeal for poetry, I think. I like the Ferris wheel simile. Thanks for linking this to MMWP. Victoria

  16. Back again (at the Pub) and enjoyed it even more a second time.

  17. nice…was here already but worth the come back…nice sonnet…

  18. i enjoyed your sonnet and space is so amazing

  19. Wow amazing pic and your words describe it wonderfully, it be quite interesting to see the world from space, that’s for sure.

  20. It’s a truly inspiring image, and I think both your haiku and sonnet do it justice. I admire ayone who can bring off a sonnet so successfully!

  21. Excellent sonnet exposing the beauty beneath the science of what is. I loved the read. Thank you.

  22. This is wonderful. I love the ending “On the planet, darkness is divided
    by rays of light the sun has provided”

  23. I was just at NASA, Houston last week.

    Lovely sonnet. Moved me beyond the sun’s memory. The Ferris-wheel is a neat image.

  24. What a beauty this was!
    I simply loved these lines :”It’s a palace spinning like a Ferris-wheel,
    from whence no one leaves, yet all must egress.” –there’s a lot of depth in them…
    Really well written!

  25. I was about to repeat what Kavita said and then thankfully caught myself. There’s multilayered meaning in this finely wrought sonnet.

  26. A marvellous (literally) sonnet. We look up to view the heavens, but you have turned this upside down. Lovely. And your final couplet is superb.

  27. very brilliant explorations of human minds and science.

    Greetings, Glad to Meet!

    We are starting a poetry community at a Garden Setting, our week 1 writing theme is

    “Adam and Eve” ,

    Please check out our site and prepare to participate, 1 to 3 poems are welcome!
    The Poetry Picnic is open Sunday, 8pm, American Central Time!
    Hope to see you share your delicious poetry with us.
    Bless your weekend!
    xoxox

  28. It is a lovely sonnet.

  29. Beautifully written sonnet. I like ‘palace spinning like a ferris wheel,’ which is such a strong image.

  30. very cool poem,would love to see that in real life.

Leave a Reply

