Sonnet XIII


"Dragon Storm" Saturn

“Dragon Storm” Saturn

Sonnet XIII

(The Saturn Sonnet)

Saturnian systems tend to evolve
rich patterns of textured variations
as landscapes scatter, format and revolve
broad superimposed amalgamations.
Dynamic harsh winds strike a fresh mountain
of crystal ammonia freshly punched through
the faint bleached clouds pouring from a fountain
that eats the left edge of a storm’s white hue.
Equatorial burps of gas protect
the arrowhead wedge that out-runs the wind
and shows off the planet like an insect
whose stylized wings can flex and rescind.
Rings are not the only object to see.
The surface paints up a full gallery.

*************************

Cassini showed us that Saturn has more to it than just rings. I wrote this one in 1995, which means I hadn’t even decided to go back to school to study engineering yet.

You can read more about the picture above on:

http://www.allamericanpatriots.com/48746240_nasa-extends-cassinis-grand-tour-saturn

Posted on:

The Poetry Pantry Is Now Open! – #78

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 26, 2011, in Poetry, Poetry Blog Roll, Sonnets and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Definitely paints a full gallery and your words grab forth it’s essence and let it take shape, very nicely written!

  2. the surface paints up a full gallery…nice line and so true…beautiful…again you bring science alive and with passion…

  3. I should like to visit there one day, safe in my space ship, viewing from a porthole.

    Awesome poem!

  4. Saturn is surely a gallery – I loved this image “Of crystal ammonia freshly punched through”… it will linger with me for a long while

  5. I feel, when I read your poetry, like a fellow astronaut peering through the window of our spaceship. I like the imagry of Saturn as an insect with flexible wings. Thanks for the trip!

  6. It’s a beautiful sonnet so full of vivid imagery and fluidity of language.

    You must see some of heaven’s most stunning marvels. They surely inspire some lovely thoughts.

    I enjoyed your poem very much.

    Cheers!

  7. My god how vivid! All kinds of great work at the pub! What a treat to find amazing writer’s like u! I love the visual ride you took me on!
    “crystal ammonia freshly punched through The faint bleached clouds pouring from a fountain”
    Wow!

  8. Hello.
    A vivid gallery of images here.
    Who knew Saturn could be so beautiful!

    Thanks for sharing & for your visit/comment. I appreciate them.

    The Beautiful Winds Of India

  9. this is beautiful…. form and picture. thanks for sharing them ~

  10. Interesting subject matter!

    I am in awe of people who write sonnets. (ONE day I’ll attempt it. … maybe.)

  11. Such vivid words!
    Thanks for taking the time to visit my blog 🙂

  12. “Wow” and another “Wow” for the picture.

  13. Very vivid in description. Thank you for sharing!
    Erick Flores

Leave a Reply

