Geometer’s Playground Over Wyoming


Geometer’s Playground Over Wyoming

City lights illuminate the horizon of an unnatural land.
A menagerie of images captures geometric designs.

       Arch diffuse as the Milky Way.
       Hexagonal crystal lunar halo.
       Shadows appearing at oblique angles.

Star trails point in multiple directions.
Sky juxtapositions surround the pyramidal structure.

       All points of view enhanced  aesthetically.
       Lunar corona shrinks and swells.
       Drifting pollen grains distort the scene.

Nothing  can quench the soft green glow of a far off Nebula.
The landscape is both daylight and semi-darkness.

       A bright night landscape,
          hyper-real and unreal all at once.
       A moon glaring like an evil eye.

Shadows stretch to and from the camera in unison.
Homestead-tech in a high science field.

************************

Here’s another http://onestoppoetry.com/ endeavor.

Also posted on:

Also posted on:

“G” Is For “Gigi” Ann” A Little Bit About Me

It’s from a great picture I saw on Astronomy Picture of the Day, the specific link being:

http://apod.nasa.gov/apod/ap110606.html

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on June 20, 2011, in One Stop Poetry, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. What a wonderful response to the photo…
    I really enjoyed reading it…
    thanks for sharing it.
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. We have the ‘Poet Laureate’ in England, who write poems for the government and the Queen. NASA should appoint you as their poetic representative. 🙂

  3. As great as always my friend! Oh and thanks for the @ mentions earlier!

  4. Really liked this tribute to the sky at night honey, I’m sorry it took me so ling to land at your blog but it’s been manic here! Yes our poet lauriate is Carole Ann Duffy. Like her work but it’s very literate. The blogging community also has a poet lauriate, which this year happens to be me lol, why? I don’t know heheee

  5. You always blow me away with your images from science and your talent for mixing them into free verse…RS

    • It’s really not my images. I find these these in the captions, then I use the captions as roots to surf and dig around the internet for more phrases and I put them together. My knack is not in the images, but in putting them together poetically. OK, I do make some of it up…but I get most of it, and the stuff I make up is otherwise inspired by the material.

  6. Love how the landscape of words shape my perspective

  7. That was some image, well explored in your verse. Intense images well explored. Thanks, Gay

  8. Reminds me of when I was young, standing in an open field late at night outside of Sheridan Wyoming looking up. It made one feel so small and insignificant in the vastness of that magnificent expanse we call the universe. One could not help but understand that we are not alone in that universe.

  9. arother amazing discrip. and yet another great pic.

  10. Very well written.

  11. Created the way only an astro-poet could!

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  12. Your knowledge of the field is revealed here… for me, a layperson, the mere sight of the phenomenon entrances. But your words combined technique, technology, and good old heart. Thanks for a lovely write! Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/02/29/twofer-gumm-and-gummer/

  13. I like the concept of “hyper real and unreal”, sums it up perfectly. Evocative poem on the night sky.

  14. wow, i like how you deeply describe this scietific photo. amazed me. visiting from abc wednesday.

Leave a Reply

