Murder On Train Story Opener


Although the knife was not sharp enough to painlessly shear flesh, the tip was just the right size to fit under my finger nails and clean them out. It was a knife like no other. Once a week, I would clean it with alcohol swabs and oil it down with gun oil. Then the fast action spring in the Flame Blade Chopper would release with seemingly no pressure at all. I only had a few minutes to clean my nails, because my girlfriend gets totally grossed-out when I do this, and I didn’t want to fight with her. I tried to hurry.

Uh oh.

Too late.

The door of the compartment slid open. Her face was ashen. A booger was impaled on the tip of the blade. I was about to explain when she said, “Blood. Blood all over a fine Pucci scarf. Belonged to the keyboard player. I saw them drag him off.”

******************

I’m trying Prose for the first time on this blog. It’s for one stop poetry. They asked for a  fragment, specifically the beginning of a killer on a train story.

http://onestoppoetry.com/2011/06/one-stop-and-the-arts-the-killer-opening.html

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on June 26, 2011, in One Stop Poetry, Prose. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. “A booger was impaled on the tip of the blade.” that was perfect comedic timing to introduce her and her priorities. This reads like the opener to a rom-com with a murder thrown in.

  2. That’s very unusual in a murder mystery. A booger. Hmmmm….well, knowing your humor, maybe not.

    • The booger came out of nowhere. I was writing this, and then, it’s like what could he have at the tip of the knife that he would not want his girlfriend to see…and what else could it have been?

  3. boogers,they seem to be everywhere! LoL i was right there under the seat.

Leave a Reply

