Too Many Car Blues


Too Many Cars - How many More in the Three Car Garage?

Too Many Car Blues

There’s a janky ol’ dude.
He keeps forty nine cars.
He stays with his mama.
She collects cannin’ jars.

He’s got seven pit bulls
that will tear you to shreds.
They crap on his rugs.
Sleep on their stinkin’ beds.

He got up one mornin’,
sneezin’ mightier than hell.
Them dogs peed inside.
He done holla and yell.

Got in the Town Car,
got a nail in a tire.
When he changed up the spare,
darn engine caught on fire.

The next day he drove,
an old Chevy truck.
Road to the reserve:
He had mighty fine luck.

He took all his cash,
bought himself a new Ford.
Now he’s gots fifty cars
by the Grace of the Lord.

************************

Here’s another “One Stop Poetry Challenges.” This time I’m writing in response to Form Monday “The Blues:

http://onestoppoetry.com/2011/07/form-monday-the-blues.html

OK, this is nothing like anything you are used to me seeing. As @Deshair has said in the past, my poems are vocabulary lessons. Well, this is just another type of vocabulary.

So, for those of you used to seeing me use words like chemiluminescent and nanomanipulator, he’s a whole different set of vocabulary words to ponder. I happen to favor “janky.”

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on July 4, 2011, in One Stop Poetry, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. bad, bad, bad. The slang is all wrong.

  2. I like all your words. Who says it’s all wrong. I says, whatchu hear is whatchu sing, kaching.
    I don’t know whar you be, but heah in Texas you see shacks surrounded my a load of dem ol’ cars and some ol boy in a tank t-shirt putterin’ around out there with a wrench in his hand. They all probly run pretty smooth.

    It was a great blues. Another one I could put music to in a, oh, Mississippi minute. (smile)
    Thanks for writing and posting! Gay

  3. This is great, nice piece, has good rhythm. (And I like the word “janky”.) Good job, “astro-poet”.

  4. Haha… that’s excellent and very funny. 🙂

    You should send it to Ford. 🙂

  5. Nice! I like the light, playful yet still bluesy tone of this.

  6. ok the slag rang in my mind a little,but i think i live by this guy!

Leave a Reply

