Out There


Out There

Disembodied spheres,
unique;
without bound.

Causal nexus-continuity.

Extrasensory induction.
Encapsulated in momentariness.

A realm
in constant
movement
barrel jammed full
of ordinary colors.

Postulated.
Empirically.
Out there.

*************

I originally wrote this for the Sunday Scribblings challenge called distant.

Then linked it on


dversepoets open link night week 2

Photo Credit:  cdn1.kongregate.com

It includes the following, which I will respect:
CREATIVE COMMONS LICENSE
Your use of this work is subject to the applicable Creative Commons License posted athttp://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-nc-nd/3.0/us/ and Kongregate’s Terms of Use, as applicable, which are hereby incorporated herein by reference.

You may not copy, make derivative works, distribute, display, perform or make any other use of this work except as expressly authorized under the applicable Creative Commons License.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on July 25, 2011, in http://sundayscribblings.blogspot.com/, Poetry, Sunday Scribblings and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 27 Comments.

  1. A wonderful and creative way to write on the prompt… I enjoyed reading it.
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. i liked that

  3. Distant Out There…. Vivid images and movement in the poem. Excellent and engaging.

  4. Joanne Elliott aka soulsprite

    Great sounds!

  5. very creative write. great!

  6. Im not gonna lie, I had to look up half of these words. Once I did though, I really found that they were perfect together. A pleasure to read.

  7. Encapsulated in momentariness gives us a rash!

    • I don’t understand what you mean?

      I can think of a few things a) the phrase soooo turns you off, maybe you see it as sooo pretentious that it gives you a metaphoric rash, you are allergic to my poetry. or b) if you were to be encapsulated with whomever this “us” is, then you would be getting a rash. Maybe the rash is me? Are you allergic to me? Perhaps I emit some enzyme which give you a rash. I apologize, in that case. Maybe there is a c) lotion called “momentariness” and when you are encapsulated in this lotion, you get a rash. It’s really beginning to sound like you have bad allergy problems. Seems like we need some benadryl here.

      • Not at all. I liked the line and thought about moments and then the thought of being encapsulated in any one moment, gives a rash.

        Your poem was quirky and enjoyable.

  8. AKA Tom Eliot

    From out there to in here…

    Nice work.

  9. describes some of my previous relationships 🙂 I love all the decriptive words you used.

    • Cool. It wasn’t supposed to be about people at all. Just about abstract celestial objects. But so cool. I re-read it, and yeah, it totally is like a bad relationship. Funny how poetry works that way.

  10. I had to look up the words too… nice word play.. it gave me a sense of a big nothingness

    Nice to meet you~

    • yeah, both out there, the cosmos, and the quantum world are more nothing than anything else. also a lot of the big deals we make about relationships are nothing. better to move on with our lives, and not get too attached (as the Buddhists would say).

  11. That is out there … in a good way. 🙂

  12. We all wonder what’s out there. And you too remind us that yes, there is something out there, viable..almost waiting. For what?

  13. We all wonder what’s out there. You underscore that, but it seems it’s waiting, whatever it is.

  14. Whatever it is, it’s still out there!

  15. Loved the language…and the journey. Also appreciate your reference in the comment above about not getting too attached…there’s plenty of space to be explored. I have to admit, like Sheila, my thoughts automatically went to some past relationships as well…but I haven’t been able to TOTALLY bring the theory of detachment into my heart 🙂

  16. I love the mystery of the universe. You’ve expressed it well with all of its wonder. Well done 🙂

  17. I think this is a terrific piece. Your succinct, tight writing and composition lend themselves well to the diction and flow. I would remove the periods/full stops. Your words shine without them.

  18. It’s postulated, empirical and out there. It’s big in it’s smallness, particles always moving. Definitely gives me something to think about! Thanks for the write.

  19. Another beautiful poem! Your poems are quite evocative and in someways tranquil -if that even makes sense?! 😀

  20. This is very effective in that it gives the reader a sense of vast space yet at the same time allows a feeling of connection. Some of the language is a little subject specific for me but it does juxtapose well with the more general language giving a sense that the result is more than the sum of its parts. Love this phrase

    barrel jammed full
    of ordinary colors

    I think you could probably do with a hyphen though ‘barrel-jammed’

    Cool write.

  21. Very creative and whimsical.. very well expressed!
    Hugs xox

Leave a Reply

