Delivered


Fireman- Delivered

Delivered

Had you been delivered in the swirl of a dustbowl
         On the brightest bands of the rainbow
         On the sharpest rays of the sun
I could not be more in awe of your radiance.

If your words were more wise
then the combined encyclopedic summary of all sagacity
I could not be more attentive to your discourse.

Were your voice deeper than the trembling of the earth
          Or the rumbling of a collapsing glacier
          Or the trumpet of a bull elephant
I would think you no more a man.

If there were a dictionary of laudations, praise and exaltation:
There would not be sufficient words to express my respect for you.

Would the softness of your caring be more tender,
were you kindness more nurturing,
I would never wean of your love,
think only this of me.

***********************

I posted this for: monday-morning-writing-prompt - “writing-a-feeling”

Also posted on:

Prompt # 117

Also posted on:  Memory–Write2Day

Picture from :  New York Daily News  Firefighter Official Calendar

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on August 9, 2011, in Carry On Tuesday, Monday Morning Writing Prompt, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I love this, Bat-Ami. For me, I feel deep love, repect and admiration. Especially love. Re: your comments on my poem, The Sin Seller, I like the Hebrew definition of sin: “missing the mark!” It’s those subtle things that can make us less loving. My view only. :0)

    Thanks for joining up to Mon. Morning Writing Prompt–I’m honored.

  2. I quite like this. It’s just really beautiful. My sophomoric and under-developed vocabulary is having trouble deciphering the whole thing. Nevertheless, the general feel and tone of the poem is really beautiful.

    Check out my site if you get the chance:
    http://lyricsaspoetry.wordpress.com

  3. Bat-Ami, I love this poem. However, I’m a bit perplexed by your comment on my poem. Hopefully you can clarify.

  4. By the way, I made some substantial edits to my poem, so the point at issue might be moot now.

  5. there’s high respect and deep admiration in your words..beautiful

  6. very tender and evocative love-poem; you’ve done something very difficult, ie writing love-poetry without cliche or over-sentimentality. Bravo

    • oh, wow, that means a lot. i don’t like to write love poetry exactly because it is usually full of cliche and over-sentimentality, so unless you’re a teenager, why bother? n’est pas?

  7. Thanks for sharing your talent with poetry potluck,

    smiles.

  8. You get used to a certain pace in poetry and I had to settle down and read this a few times to realize the beauty of your thoughts and words. Thanks for sharing this.

  9. Hello.
    This piece definitely speaks of high praise & admiration.
    Very fitting image too.

    Thanks for sharing.

    My Potluck is here:
    Remove These Satin Sheets…

  10. Do really think this is true?

  11. This has a feeling of the classics about it…perhaps because of the questioning form you chose. (Well, maybe not the image?) :0)

  12. Well, that is quite the write !
    your descriptive process took my breath
    away while reading it…such a gift you have
    to write so powerfully.

    I’m not one to relate to or write love poems…
    if I did they’d probably be fiction…
    but I do appreciate what you have written.

    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,735 other followers

