The Kiss


Der Kuss By Gustav Klimt

The Kiss

there is someone who
at initial sighting

immediate knowledge
manifests: lifetimes

have been shared
between the two.

an urge drives
to pounce upon

this darling,
this warrior

who has reappeared
in this passing life.

strangers hesitate.
a moment, another

moment, then,
with telesthesia,

you take each other
as if you are owned.

the brain violently churns
a torrent of serotonin.

that kiss has been since
you two were torn asunder.

then all that can exist
is primordial flash.

*************

Written for:

The Gooseberry Garden
Gooseberry

Poetry Picnic Week 2 – kiss

Also posted on:

Love one another

Also Posted on:

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on August 29, 2011, in Carry On Tuesday, Magpie Tales, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. outstanding to me.

    love it, the word flow, the emotions your words stir.
    cheers.

  2. did you write this just now ?
    I totally like this .. flash as the kiss and yet everlasting ..

    • i wrote it when i woke up this morning, when I saw the first email, yes. didn’t even cheat and use some scraps from the past, or look through other poems on the subject and see how other people expressed themselves. just right out of my head. 🙂

  3. This is great, powerful and striking. I read it without even looking at the painting until afterward. It certainly captures the painting but think goes deeper than that, too.

  4. held my breath just like a passionate kiss 🙂

  5. I love this image and your words to it beautifully done. A very touching moment of serendipity. ~ Rose

  6. You have captured – very vividly – the mood of the Klimt painting.

  7. The Borg Poet (@theborgpoet)

    Enjoyed this thoroughly, Although I liked my read of it first. Getting old and I must need glasses. But I like your version as well! 🙂

    then all that can exist
    is primordial flesh.

  8. A kiss is so mysterious, so magical and you have caught both elements here, in addition to the feel of Klimt.

  9. Well, well… a kiss so powerful? I’d pay the price.

    Weldone. Beautifully written.

  10. Wes feels sames ways abouts cookies. Verys nice. {}^ ^{}

  11. I don’t think any of us ever forgets our first real kiss, do we? Very romantic and well penned!

  12. Excellent write. The first kiss lasts forever.

    Melanie

  13. Recognition of old loves can be great…

  14. Impressive use of unusual (in the context) “dictionary” words. “Initial” for “first” etc.
    Great use of line spacing.

  15. very cool!” you take each other as if your owned” like that and the rest. good job,Tammy

  16. I’ve often wondered about this painting… the couples backstory… with her head turned and their lips not touching. The throws of passion or the throws of a passionate affair?

    Nice write.

  17. The Darling Warrior… nice! Great poem!

  18. quite intriguing post

  1. Pingback: encore presentation: 2012 featured poets ~ zongrik | my heart's love songs

Leave a Reply

