Departure


Departure

Departure

he leaves because he must

this, he recounts each time

he has no need or care for feet

to touch the solid ground.

 

on to a dumpy dock town,

he sails away once more

in my possession, his treasure,

digging into my diaphragm.

************************

This is being posted on http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/2011/08/short-story-slam-week-9.html

Image Credit: Art at google.com

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on August 31, 2011, in http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 17 Comments.

  1. SWEET 🙂

    ITS LIKE SHE REALIZES WHY HE HAD TO LEAVE AND AS WELL MISSES HIM. 🙂

    FROM,
    LIFE
    MY ENTRY TO THE SHORT STORY THIS WEEK IS
    http://blindfold-princess.blogspot.com/2011/08/awaiting.html?spref=bl

    • anyone who doesn’t understand why someone has to leave is pretty narcissistic and selfish. people like that don’t deserve relationships, although, somehow, they always seem to be in one. why’s that?

  2. I worked out of town every week for nine years. I hated leaving my wife and home, but it was so wonderful to come home.

    Here is my week 9 entry: http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/08/31/dearest-john-2/

  3. Oh, this is wondrous! He leaves in hesitation and she waits in pain. So beautiful. xoXox

  4. This is short and sweet but tells an entire story – it proves , once again , that less IS more !

  5. You’ve told a whole story in two poetic stanzas. There are so many women whose husbands or lovers never return from sea. When I lived in Brittany (France) for a few years, the costal fishing villages all had little chapels with memorials to those lost at sea. Touching story for the image.

  6. Wow! Nicely done. A type of pain that has been experienced before yet a feeling of enchantment as well. 🙂

  7. How is it I wonder, that some heart aches become transcendanta?

    I think you’ve touched on that well.

    Thanks for sharing that.

    John

  8. Fully realized in brevity. Really liked it.

    Stu
    http://wp.me/p1mecg-dV

  9. Dr.Susan K. Stacy

    The words come alive to touch the reader’s soul with the beautiful painting, which is so appropriate for the theme. You have a unique talent that deserves to be more widely recognized. In time, your works should become in demand throughout the world.

  10. Love the new look. Hugs.

  11. I love this. I saw the boat coming in and not going out. I saw her standing waiting for the return and not sorrow for the depart. I love the way each person sees this images.

    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/05/the-milky-seas/

  12. Well done! You’ve captured the full range of emotions in this one… 🙂

  13. this really touches my heart pulling at it…..

Leave a Reply

