Sunflower


Rolling Hills Of Flowers

Sunflower

Squeeze the oil from the seed after you

Undress the shinning flower.

No food is comparable.

Fibrous, fun and functional.

Loaded with Vitamins A,E and C.

Oily healthy and nutritious.

With fats, proteins and minerals

Everyone should be eating them.

Roasted and salted is best.

**********************

This form is an acrostic. Inspired by the one written by Laurie Kolp: http://lkharris-kolp.blogspot.com/2011/09/sunflower.html

Written for:

Poetry Blogroll

The Thursday Think Tank  #64 – “Sunflower”

Also posted on:

Carry On Tuesday # 131 Prompt – The summer flower has run to seed
Also Posted on:

prompt – “health”

Picture credit:  National Sunflower Association – Photo LibraryBlooming-Field
About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on September 4, 2011, in Poetry, Poets United, Sunday Scribblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Aww… I’m so glad to have inspired you to write this beautiful acrostic. I love sunflower seeds (shelled). Very creative take on the prompt.

    ~laurie

  2. Wonderful post…thank you.

    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  3. Sunflowers are my favorite kinds of flowers and good to eat too!

  4. Oh, but I love them in their natural state, before they become food for mankind. You sing the praises of the seeds well. Thanks for sharing!

  5. I love sunflower, the look, the image to paint and the seeds in the middle great poem thanks
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/19/my-world/

  6. love it,
    it opens one’s eyes.
    beautiful submission.

    🙂

  7. The flowers are attractive, the seeds are tasty, and your poem is deliciously and beautifully written. Very nice!
    http://charleslmashburn.wordpress.com/2011/09/19/fragile-cloth-2/

  8. Sunflowers are very versatile and one of my very favourite flowers too:)
    xx

  9. Wonderful shot and very nice text;o)
    And I can see you love yellow too. Such a nice colour when the sky has been grey for weeks!
    Thanks for sharing;o)

    ***
    Happy day****

  10. It looks like a painting! I have loads of sunflower seeds in my fridge; bought it from a shop in a sunflower field. Maybe I should eat some and not give them all to the visiting mayas.

Leave a Reply

