Memory Stick


Memory Stick

flash drive doesn’t drive
it just likes the same commands
as DVD and CD drives
that everyone demands

flash drive doesn’t flash
it just stores all your data
when you’re tryin’ to run programs
versions alpha and/or beta

flash drive doesn’t move
in fact it’s rather dull
but memories stick to it
better than to your skull

flash drive doesn’t break
if you drop it on the floor
i hear it’s rather robust
it might last a nuclear war

flash drives just interface
with your CPU and apps
you’ll never need a wire
or expensive safety straps

*********************

I wrote this for Theme Thursday

since it has so much repetition, I posted it on


dverse, Poetic Say It Again Sam

 Hedgewitch (Joy Ann Jones) was hosting.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on September 17, 2011, in D’verse Poets Pub, http://bluebellbooks.blogspot.com/ and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. it is def a cute play on memory sticks…i like the stick to your skull line…

  2. I love the twist the prompt takes. And I definitely love the play of words.

  3. 🙂 “but memories stick to it
    better than to your skull”

    Brought smiles 🙂 And much fun in the write!!

  4. haha – so nice..will never look at memory sticks the same tammy…i like your use of repetition here…loved the memories sticking to the stick..great word play

  5. Ah yes, memory sticks are definitely useful! Nice use of repetition.

  6. Very clever. Definitely data sticks to the sticks better than to my memory.

  7. Clever and PERFECT for the dVerse prompt….way to answer the call.

  8. great play on words… and the rhythm sets up your delightful repetition.

  9. Definitely a good choice, since not just words but patterns repeat–and a cool little poem as well–I would be lost without my flash drive–all my poetry’s on it, and your last verse is definitely true there–no way I could rewrite it all from memory–writing it once was hard enough. Thanks for playing.

  10. Delightful and it grabbed my attention from the beginning!

  11. a fun read and great reps! glad you linked it up today at dverse 🙂

  12. Now where did I put the damn thing!

  13. You turned such an ordinary object into a great poem 🙂 Now if only I could find my memory stick…

  14. I enjoyed the flash drive repetitive words… yes, it is all there is and more ~

  15. excellent play on words and I like how you have used the memory stick normally you would not think much of a memory stick but you have turned this into an excellent poem
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/09/24/loneliness-the-anger-of-lost-hope/

  16. Great use of repetition here, and about one of my favorite gadgets. I love their plug and play aspect too. They are ubiquitous, and have changed school work. My grandchildren do their homework, copy to their flash drives, and deliver it to their teacher. He/She reads, grades and returns it to them. It’s true for them all these days and I assume is being done on the college level as well. Very cool poem here. Thanks, G.

    • I didn’t know that kids handed in their homework on thumb drives these days. Very cool.

      I’m glad you liked the poem. I love writing about different things. Love poems are so…OMG everyone writes them!!

  17. I could write about oceangirl using these very words 🙂 I enjoyed it.

  18. Haha–this is so cool–I really love it, Bat-Ami!

  19. but memories stick to it
    better than to your skull

    excellent 🙂 very cool.

    gam ani me-hamidbar… shachar be-ivrit 🙂

  20. I like your Memory Stick better than mine…nuclear war? Really? Our Memory Sticks are like cockroaches!

Leave a Reply

