ADHD Haiku


    

ADHD Haiku

waiting with patience
plagued with short attention spans
an impossible feat

************************

This challenge from Haiku Heights – Prompt #89 – Impossible

Photo credits:

 My Kid Has ADHD: What’s your kid’s excuse?

and

Attention Deficit-Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD)

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on October 8, 2011, in Haiku Heights, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. Great haiku…on the money !
    ☮ Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. I agree with siggi. I don’t think the massive amounts of EMFs being emitted and saturating our airspace are helping, nor the way TV programs and esp ads are cut, nor the computer games, nor the modern diet, nor drugs in the long-term. And labelling can be very harmful. It can also be useful if it helps find a solution. But how f**king irresponsible those doctors are putting such young children on ritalin etc.

  3. magicalmysticalteacher

    I work with special needs kids, and it always amazes me how some teachers/parents/adults/people who should know better seem to expect the impossible from these kids. Some things ARE possible, however, so let’s concentrate on those, shall we?

    Impossible Tongue!

  4. That pic of kid with all splashed items is fantastic,, its childhood, when these things seems fun.

  5. it’s fortunate my kid is “normal”. i guess it must be tough for those parent/guardian who have children with ADHD.
    a good haiku!

  6. This is great …the contrasting images and comic adds to it as well.

    I feel for parents (as well as admire) who meet the challenges of working with gifted children in a dignified manner.

    I have heard some interesting results with some children/adults using a product I’ve just been introduced to …

  7. this is beautiful haiku, just what ADHD is about. how hard is it to be patient with such condition. gives a deep insight to ADHD.

  8. I salute the moms who have this great patience with growing up children ADHD or not!!

    The fast paced world today is making most children hyperactive , impulsive in behavior, and usually resulting in excessive activity and impatience!! Poor moms do need all the help and support and counselling.

    I did work with a slow learner who was hyperactive and very short attention span;…. and the mom exasperate!! …. but constructive activity in which I got the child involved in did help,… in increasing the child’s attention span.

    I learnt that she became a topper in higher school , excelled at music and dance too!!

    Good Haiku and involved much thought!!

  9. Nice haiku and meaningful message.

    And yes, I did write a theme opposing the prompt 🙂

  10. Hyperactive, short span attention child is God’s gift. It is a knowing of their latent talent that is uppermost in minders to discover!

    Hank

  11. Oh, I loved this. Really great, thanks

  12. Nice work. What a hard task you must have.

    Melanie

  13. Clever stuff! You really got the message across!!

  14. Awesome write up. I couldn\\\’t be more in agreement with you.

  15. Amazing write up. I can\\\’t be more in agreement with what you said.

  16. Awesome write up. I can\\\’t agree more with you.

  17. Amazing post. I cannot agree more with what you said.

  18. Great write up. I can\\\’t be more in agreement with what you said.

  19. I am always irritated with a nephew of my hubby who has ADHD…when the disease attacks him, he would continuously talk and talk and talk…he seemed to never get tired…

    What is wrong with them?

  20. A tremendous haiku.

  21. Great write up. I cannot agree more with what you said.

  22. This summarizes this perfectly in 3 lines. Very well done!

Leave a Reply

