A Soldier’s Call


A Soldier’s Call

When all around me chafes my heart,
and soldiers shout for aid,
I run to help, I do my part
although I am afraid.

I know one day, I shall depart
and march in my hometown parade,
but now, it chafes my aching heart,
as the wounded shout for aid.

But kind ones, now,  have done their part
with a calling card that’s prepaid.
Despite the blasts of a fierce air raid,
I no longer feel alone and apart,
when all around me chafes my heart.

***************************

Today’s Sunday Scribbling’s used the word “the call” as a prompt. I decided to write about calls to/from deployed soldiers.

There’s a wonderful program called Cell Phones For Soldiers created by a pair of teenage siblings. The videos on this page give you a good picture of this program. It’s a nice story, to say the least.

Picture credit goes to Engaget  .  This happens to be another interesting story about a High School student who was suspended for the rest of the school year for refusing to hang up on a cellphone call from his mother, a soldier positioned in Iraq for over a year, during lunch break.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on October 9, 2011, in Sunday Scribblings and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 10 Comments.

  1. Wonderful write. Thanks Bat-Ami/ Zongrik!

  2. great write. great program for the cell phones. that kid’s mom should be home, not in iraq.

  3. It is thoughtful of you to give voice to those so deserving. No matter where you stand regarding the “war/s”, those serving earn, each day, our gratitude and respect for the sacrifices they are making.

    Thank you.

  4. PLan and simple, thank you.

  5. That was great as it was touching went to my heart makes my fight for them stronger. thank you,Tammy

  6. My heart goes out to all the Soldiers, Sailors, Airmen and Marines in harms way till they safely come home!!!
    Thanks for your support=)

  7. Thanks Tammy for remembering our troops. I like the repetition and variation of “Chafes my heart”. Nice flow and great poem.

  8. You have given a great sense to the word ‘call’ including call of duty!! Excellent!!

  9. Great poem, very touching. Powerful cause as well.

  10. I can’t imagine better use of the prompt. Just perfect.

Leave a Reply

