The Horror of Death


The Heart Of Arkus

“The Bible tells us to be like God, and then on page after page it describes God as a mass murderer. This may be the single most important key to the political behavior of Western Civilization.” Robert Anton Wilson

The Horror of Death

A feeling is a wordless song.
Supplication’s overlooked.
Spontaneous visualization, stirs imagination.
Trying too hard lacks truth.

God, science and nature are identical ―
no contraction of power.

God receives despite vile sins,
while nature always nurtures.

Faith no more;
salvation is not the healer.

The horror of death
lies but in fear of God.

*****************

Written and posted for:

 Dverse Poetics Taboo Subjects: How to be Fearless and Nothing Less.

Challenge by  Kellie Elmor, who hosts a blog called Magic in the Backyard. of

Photo Credit The Heart Of Arkus Fractal Art Canvas Print

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on October 15, 2011, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 26 Comments.

  1. nice…i dont think god or science have much to fear from each other…i think the divide between the two is a lot smaller than many believe…

  2. this leaves much to ponder…great write

  3. I think you are brave to write about this… the horror of death lies in the fear of God – powerful line here. From my personal experience though, faith moves us, closer to God, despite whatever science may say.

  4. So interesting, from quote, to poem. A lot to think about.

  5. your punching at the big guys and poking a stick at the biggies

    takes some doin – nice write

  6. I thought about taking on this subject; it’s a subject that passes in and out of my consciousness every day. As I am dealing with death at the door, I’m fairly fed up with what any canon or any religion tells us is God. But the horror of death is the rattles and traps set for us by powermongering clerics who seek power over us. As a woman, I have decided to define God by my own lights and the way I choose. I think you might feel the same.

    • I am so honored that you wrote this to me. I never imagined that someone in your position would read this and feel the way you do.

      I am not sure about God, that quote means a lot to me. I believe in The Force, like in Star Wars, and in higher something. Something had to start it all. It did not start by the laws of probability (see Anna’s poem) or just the opposite, the laws of probability and the laws of entropy being not absolute, the exceptions started the universe and life.

  7. Poetical Psyche

    Really good piece, makes you think quite a bit. Excellent read, thanks

  8. Nicely done.
    I suspect all religion stems from the fear of death, but it’s just a guess.

    • well, from what i read, teaching spiritual things came from wanting to understanding death. but then, i guess the people who wanted to manipulate and have power, seized the opportunity to get people to fear death, so they could somehow control them, and thus, the birth of religion.

  9. I separate God from religion… I’m spiritual. I feel God within myself telling me the right things to do. Religion is run by man. As far as Science goes, it’s man learning more about God’s powers. This is my belief.

  10. There is a power greater than ourselves..this i know to be true..
    do i fear death? no..for to have lived a minute is a gift..
    you tackled a big subject and handled it with class..

    well done!

  11. I don’t quite know what to make of religion or spirituality. But I do know your verses are powerful. “A feeling is a wordless song.” What a marvelous line. And there are many more. You’ve wrapped your ideas in very immediate and compelling terms. This is a very good write.

  12. Your introductory quote was superb–thanks for posting it. A lot of lines in this force one to challenge assumptions. My favorite quote on this subject is the famous one by Voltaire, “If there were no God, it would be necessary to invent him.” Cuts both ways. Excellent take on the prompt.

  13. Your poem evoked some wonderful discussions in comments. I have such a hard time reconciling evil done in the name of religion. My own belief is that God speaks many languages (metaphor here) and speaks to us each in a way that we can hear…whether that be through religion or spirituality or… Thanks for this one.

  14. so true. much of what you write here.
    very good, thoughtful poem.
    the last line is no less truer, either.
    wow. good job.
    short but powerful.
    I guess you broke some taboos, too.

  15. You really rose to the challenge of the night; I’m very open-minded but everyone has beliefs they don’t want challenged. I remember my Ethics class in college upset a lot of students; I thought it was exciting to get to take things out of the box so to speak and rearrange them.

  16. awesome job on writing about what appears to be the most passionate taboo topic out there this evening – religion. I like to keep it simple by saying I that I believe there is something more powerful out there than us humans. Beyond that all I can share is my personal experience and afford others the chance to do the same.

    Sometimes I wonder if all of the different beliefs and religions, etc. is just the “higher power’s” way to get to all of us since we are all so different. One of my favorite quotes (which I heard from my spiritual advisor) is “Once I realize that I don’t know then I begin to know.” I think she means, “I know that I don’t know.” but like those jedi masters she speaks in riddles to me 😉

  17. brave write here tammy – and i agree with brian – the gap between science and god doesn’t seem to be a really big one..a feeling is a wordless song..true

  18. I guess at some point we will all find out what is beyond death. No way to avoid that. Thought-provoking and very strong write!

  19. Depends on what you mean by God and what you mean by Science – move away from Emperor God metaphors and closed system science and the debate gets interesting!

  20. Few subjects are taboo these days – but death is clearly one. And those last lines are great, just ambiguous enough. Good poem.

  21. Human consciousness produced both god and science — and ego-consciousness is in the fear of death (since it figures out that it won’t survive the transition). And neither ladder of faith or science quite gets up and over the bourne from which no traveller returns. Fine verse assay – Brendan

  22. Thought provoking stuff.

    Anna :o]

Leave a Reply

