Four Ghost Senryu


Four Ghost Senryu

living room ghost
stolidly at fireplace
running for my life

dispirited house
attic, cellar, hallways
fading into walls

mating fruitfully
never to multiply
in a rancid tomb

little girlie ghost
adorned in resplendent lace
lucid Chantilly
**************

Posted for:

 Haiku Heights Prompt #92 “ghosts”

And also for :

Prompt: The Gooseberry Garden – Poetry Picnic Week 11-Halloween Special

Photo Credit freebsforslkids I Wanna Shine Like A Star In Heaven

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on October 29, 2011, in Haiku Heights, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. the pic is exactly true for me, i afraid of dark.

  2. Well-written senryu…I like the second one best!

  3. Sorry, I left with only thinking I’d posted…
    These posts are remarkable.
    Each struck me for an individual reason.
    first one…made me smile, tho I’ve not been frightened by my ghost.
    second one…is more like my ghost…all over the house. After 40 years in the house, there are too many stories, experiences to tell
    third one…I became transfixed with…never thought of ghosts mating, but now I will
    and the last, I like the photo and the story to go with it, but did not relate.

    Thanks for everything.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  4. I am afraid of the dark especially if there are things moving like shadows!! The second paints a perfect eerie picture!! ….and the girlie ghost is quite cute!!

  5. Resplendent lace and lucid chantilly evoke some nice antique imagery.

  6. So much we can fear in the dark. Great words.

  7. Two images really stand out… “dispirited house” and “girlie ghost”! Descriptive haiku!

  8. well done and the picture compliments your words very well..

    i believe in ghosts..i think..
    🙂

  9. My teen mini monster and I have ‘seen’ heard and experienced separately a few weird things in the past few years. Too many now to not know that we believe in spooky things.
    Great pic and prose pieces.

  10. Fantastic set, the third was the one that tickled my mind the most!

  11. I went back to try to pick a favorite but I couldn’t…loved them all!

  12. ‘mating fruitfully
    never to multiply
    in a rancid tomb’

    This verse is freakishly good!

  13. Perfect for Halloween!

  14. nice haiku set… chilly images like the last one …

    happy halloween ~

  15. all cute and witty.
    Thanks.

    🙂

  16. Great piece – and I love your blog..Jae

  17. so creepy…

  18. This is very cute and full of images. I love your little ghosts they seem so much fun and I enjoyed this. Happy Halloween
    http://gatelesspassage.com/2011/10/30/the-witch-is-transformed/

  19. ghosts all unique in their own way …loved it thank you x

  20. Great set – hard to choose for different reasons, but if I HAD to pick one – it would be the 2nd one! Happy Halloween!

  21. I don’t believe in ghosts but do believe in this fun day for the kids – their imaginations go wild and this facet is an important factor in their innocence and growing up.

  22. WoW! That picture’s scary! I love the word play on Chantilly Lace!!

  23. the first is funny; the second beautifully pieced;
    the third struck me as odd, but true; the fourth, very visual is the ‘lucid’ lace.
    neat stuff.

  24. amazing one,

    smiles.

    come to poets rally soon.

  25. magicalmysticalteacher

    “a rancid tomb”

    This is a powerful, but startling, image!

    Ghosts of Trees

  26. very overpowering like a real ghost,i can relate to this.

  27. beverleycliftons

    hello to the forum, im from scotland and its feezing a`hh
    b cliftons xx

  1. Pingback: Bookmarks for November 1st from 07:21 to 08:00 « Mark's life

Leave a Reply

