Sonnet XXXVIII


Aurora Looking Like Rain from ISS

Sonnet XXXVIII

We all have pondered a full nights of stars.
We’ve stared into the mosaic of space.
We’ve wished to settle planets such as Mars,
and hoped to find life in another place.
Ten thousand sounds from a noiseless goddess
sing to us as rotational motions ―
persist to send refined lines of darkness
that shock our contemplative emotions.
The Aurora looks like a thunderstorm.
On the most sacred night, after you blinked,
see the blackened sky take on a new form.
Everything in the universe is linked.
Foreboding omen of the northern sky;
spelling-binding apparition floating by.

*************************

This picture was taken by @Astro_Wheels Astronaut Douglas H. Wheelock on November 20, 2010.

I got it off his twitpic site.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on November 1, 2011, in Poetry, Sonnets and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. “Ten thousand sounds from a noiseless goddess
    sing to us as rotational motions ―”

    This phrase struck my inner being

    “Everything in the universe is linked.”

    and this made me think, and go, “yes, she’s right”

    Thank you for sharing this with me. I enjoyed reading it very much.

    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

    • One time, when I lived in Seattle, there was an exhibit of Soviet space craft at the Science Museum. I talked to one of the engineers about the Venra (Venus) probe and asked him what was on Venus and he told me the same as here, because we all come from the same star.

      All stars are made of the same stuff, so, we are all linked in the universe. We are certainly linked, if we believe in the Big Bang.

      • I do believe we are all linked…I am not a scientist, and do not have an explanation
        that can be put into words. I feel that there is somehow a tie between people, that
        there are people that the universe ties to use somehow.

        My German grandmother, (the other being Norwegian…both immigrants to the U.S.) told me once when I was a teenager, that if someone is to be in ones life, no matter where you are, they will come into your life, you do not need to look for them or wonder if you are “in the wrong place”… too small a town, off the beaten path.

        Maybe that doesn’t make the sense it does to me…I hope I worded it properly.

        Thank you for your reply …
        Peaceto
        Siggi

  2. I thought of you early this morning as I drove 395 from Ridgecrest to Palm Desert…most of the Mojave part of it in the dark. I can see why the stars have such an attraction for you, Bat-Ami. It was so beautiful and it does inspire.

  3. what a splendid representation of a marvelous image! the aurora is always spectacular, but your words paint it so otherworldly! very well done!

  4. Beautifully written about a beautiful suject, and a great way to think of the Aurora

  5. Wonderful sonnet. Thank you for sharing.
    peace & inspiration
    David

  6. Beautiful poem!

    “Everything in the universe is linked…” so true and powerful.

    Love,

    Isabelle

Leave a Reply

