Near Earth Asteroid


Impact Earth

Coming Close

Near Earth Asteroid

comin’ from the sun
a whisker away from Earth;
whiskin’ from one direction
whizzin’ by in another

sling-shot space rock
rims off our planet
skims off gravitational well
like a perilous mass of rubble

might sail by harmlessly
at a butt-clenchingly close gap
might pass inside
the ring of manmade satellites

narrowly missing
the bull’s eye; its image may
get trapped inside a dish
or it could fade into the beyond

**********************

Brian Miller asked me to write this in honor of the asteroid that is coming way too close tomorrow. Well, it’s a space poem, how could I NOT write it?  Thanks Brian, for putting me up to this.

Posted on:


Theme Thursday

Theme Thursday for December 1, 2011 – INSIDE

Photo Credit: Not sure, got them from Brian Miller

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on November 6, 2011, in Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. love this, Glad for what you did,

    you are very talented.

  2. Brian had a brilliant flash of insight and you responded so well. So thought-provoking. How much of that stuff is out there. When you think about it, we’re so vulnerable in so many ways.

  3. scary poem, but modern and cool – good to take tips from Brian Miller

  4. OMG! Tell me when to duck! Whiz, wing, whoa! This is scary stuff! You describe the possibilities soooo well! Too well! That’s one big rock! Thanks for sharing….I think….:)))

  5. Do love your word combinations…made this intense and thought provoking.
    thanks,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  6. how terribly rude of me to ask and then show up late to the party…i guess i did get a sneak peek at it though…fun stuff…and thank you i am honored in you playing along with my comment…i guess it missed us today huh?

  7. Ah, another “favorite” phrase to
    tattoo on my brain:
    “might sail by harmlessly
    at a butt-clenchingly close gap”

    You do have a way with words.☺.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine, USA

  8. bo-ko-pucker power,very good pics and very cool poem too!

  9. Very scary thought that if it was so far away over a year ago and now it is so much closer does that mean it will eventually make its way to crash into earth. Sometimes those science fiction movies doe not always seem like movies. Great to study the pictures and cool poem about it all.

    Sorry to hear that you also had problems with your shoulder too. It seems that only people who have suffered through it or lived with someone who suffered through it seem to understand how painful it truly is. They say it is the worst surgery one can possibly go through and I had not believed them but now I know better. For a while there I thought I would have to go through it with my other shoulder but lots of resting and PT have seem to have helped it to where it should be okay for some time. I do not think I could do it again and so think you are so brave to have gone through it more than once. But the one thing I do know is that I will never do it during the summer months. That is the worst time. Now I just worry about my back and knees, do you think they could just give us new bodies instead of just body parts?

    Thank you so much for playing in this weeks Inside Theme Thursday. I hope you enjoy the new one for this coming Thursday. If this asteroid ever hits it would truly be an event that we would never forget.

    God bless.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,735 other followers

