Three Childhood Senryu


Cursing Anime Children

Three Childhood Senryu

crayons stuffed in holes
garden filled with many toys
children live inside

dreaming of princes
childish transpiration
unrealistic

between good and bad
boys were caught chanting curses
scribed in ancient books

*****************

Posted for:

The Gooseberry Garden
gooseberry Poetry Picnic Week 13:

Childhood, Dreams, Books, Role Models

Photo credit:  deviantart by konan376

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on November 13, 2011, in Poetry, The Gooseberry Garden and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 24 Comments.

  1. dream of princes, love that.

    very fun Childhood Senryu.

    🙂

  2. Sometimes even grown ups still believe in fairytales too don’t they.
    Lovely prose.

  3. So cute. I love the thoughts of children. 🙂

  4. Dreams and princes, trouble and spells,
    childhood tea parties and wedding bells.
    Your poem captures childhood on its way to adulthood. Very nice.

  5. Oh, love these and for the record I still believe in fairy tales 🙂

  6. The thoughts of kid can be so fun, I’m still a rather big one..haha

  7. Hello.
    Nice imagery here.
    Thanks for sharing & visiting. I appreciate it.

    Imaginary Dreams

  8. Great poem, I especially enjoyed the final stanza.
    The Lonely Recluse.

  9. Thank you…enjoyed.
    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  10. I enjoyed your Senryu on children…they are so full of imagination…

  11. Nice use of the form tied to children thought and activity.

  12. An interesting post.. Fairy tales vs reality. I wonder who prevails?

  13. fairy tales offer perfection to life,
    we fancy them, live in reality.

    🙂

  14. Ha-ha, naughty boys! I enjoyed looking at childhood through your unique lenses.

  15. that was great it really brings back thoughts of my kids when they were small,just great use of words

  16. magicalmysticalteacher

    I have an image of children living inside the garden, crayons stuffing the holes where carrots were pulled from the earth, and toys sprinkled around the planting bed as if they were sown seed!

    haiku on Friday
    a handful of syllables
    scattered heart to heart

    Haiku here and here

  17. Absolutely delightful. Did you draw the anime?

  18. Bat-Ami welcome to haiku my heart!
    complex haiku from the world of children,
    inspired and edgy.
    glad you have joined here!

  19. You transported me back to my own childhood through your words and image.

    Thank you,

    Sue x

  20. You’ve captured childhood perfectly there.

  21. Fun times and seems a normal childhood!! 🙂 Delightful and loved the first one immensely!!

  22. The rumpled world of children is one of great imagination and energy. I believe that you have captured it well both in word and image here. Great post and welcome 🙂
    Noelle

Leave a Reply

