Don’t Get Stuck in the Swamp


Mossman

Don’t Get Stuck in the Swamp

decay in festering water
stuck in a methane swamp

a second chance?
change foolish opinions;

embedded images
learn the facts

have guts to admit
perfect mutability;

learn to paddle
when the current dies

swim lessons keep
you from drowning

like an architect,
you plan; you try

not to get buried
something sleeps

you fight impatience
successfully?

when you are through changing
you are through

*******************

Posted for:


dversepoets  poetics-changes

Photo credit:  pumpkinrot

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on November 19, 2011, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 34 Comments.

  1. true that…when you are done changing you get stuck…life is all about change…second chances are good…when it becomes a habit i am not too sure…smiles.

  2. still laughing at your comment over at my place…will smith and johnny depp…smiles.. and i like the “tools” you provide us with for dealing with change.. not all changes are good changes and then we’re thankful when we’ve learned those swim lessons..

  3. Love the last two lines….well done

    Peace

  4. Water that doesn’t move turns stagnant and dies.
    “When you are through changing you are through.”
    So true!

  5. Yes, we all have to change or, change happens, with or without our consent. Lovely~!

  6. Wise words here. When you get through changing you are through…..until the next time; and there ALWAYS is a next time.

  7. Great opening lines.. no matter how murky the waters, the change will clear them ..

    well done!!

  8. 5 stars easily. Such a great change poem and the architect simile is perfect. Very well crafted, precise and compact!

  9. true…never make promises you can’t keep….and never change your voice…lovely share ~

  10. I especially like the first stanza and the closing quote is powerful. Some people never seem to get it.

  11. Second chances are something we all need from time to time, but life is not real accepting of do-overs–so take your swimming lessons and learn to paddle, I guess. Like the nice mix of image and metaphor in this.

  12. I’ll only be done changing when the worms have had their fill…or the flames…haven’t decided yet 🙂 Fantastic play with the prompt…truly enjoyed where my mind ran…even if it was 6ft under 😉

  13. Love this…great images from the words
    thought provoking.

    Thanks,
    Siggi of Downeast Maine

  14. You’re right. When you’re through changing there’s nothing left of life. If I’ve quit growing I become stagnant. Thanks for sharing your poem.

  15. Excellent–you are so right! Very smart.

  16. Wonderful– I love the imagery of the swamp and then the careful statements of metaphors for change. xxxxj

  17. Its travelling not the destination!

  18. This is a winner in my book. The images are striking and apt and the vision is fresh and invigorating.

  19. Changing is challenging,
    love the way you view changes,

    beautiful take.

  20. All to familiar a struggle to me right now, though I’m beginning to suspect I’m less of a planner than I thought. The imagery is densely packed and made the slow reading worth it. Thanks.

  21. I don’t plan changes, but ready to make changes when I must.

    This is beautiful.

  22. Murky waters may be a challenge to do for better. Change is through once we take and make the efforts.

    Hank

  23. Old man once told me that the day I stop learning is the day I die. With each lesson there is a change in thoughts/perspective. Loved what you did here

  24. oh, yes I agree – when you’re through changing then your through. awesome and gruesome imagery – I like! 😀

  25. this is great,Tammi like an architect,you plan you try not to get buried.such amazing lines in life.

  26. Very nice very nice stuff you have on ur blog your above excellence

  27. A swamp of gas..makes it even harder to get unstuck..great imagery..and the picture is fantastic too..Jae

  28. Yes, that is right….agree with you on the last lines ~

  29. Must keep on a changing, as I don’t want to get buried in that swamp, sounds kind of unclean, cats don’t like that..haha

  30. “Learn to paddle when the current dies.” Such a hard thing to realize and to get right in the doldrums of life. Great poem.

  31. I really like the way you explore change in this poem – it is way to easy to get stuck in swamps 🙂

  32. i love how the first verse set the scene so dramatically… the last stanza is striking!

Leave a Reply

