Three Urn Senryu


The Family Urn

Three Urn Senryu

funeral poems
nostalgic and descriptive
buried with the urn

a life that was lived
a person that’s in our thoughts
ashes in an urn

friends and family
stand at a marble headstone
lay a pewter urn

*******************

Posted for:

Haiku Heights Prompt #95 “urn”

Photo credit  © All rights reserved by:  In memory of Jane & Jay Danielson

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on November 19, 2011, in Haiku Heights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. the first funeral i ever officiated was that of my mother in law…was hard…these are nice…the middle one cuts it to the basics…

  2. Sharing the lives of family members and giving them respect is honorable.

  3. How wonderful…
    a tough subject, handled with grace
    and truth.
    A lot spoken thru a few choice words

    Peace
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  4. “A life that was lived” keeps reverberating in my mind. So simply but impactful.

  5. A life that was lived or” not fully lived”some very strong and moving words.very good.

  6. You handled this with beauty.

  7. The middle one resonates loudly with me ~~ great Haiku!

  8. Espescially the second one touches me deep. See also my Haiku Height’s haiku on this prompt.

    http://chevrefeuilleshaikublog.blogspot.com/2011/11/haiku-heights-prompt-95-urn.html

  9. A very dignified and somber expressions for the prompt word!! Worthy of respect!!

  10. Beautiful haiku set… I like that funeral poems are also buried with the urn ~

Leave a Reply

