Rescued Puppy Tanka


Rescued Puppy Tanka

shivering puppy
terrified in her prison
awaiting her death
rescued by a caring soul
now plays in the fallen leaves

*******************

Written For:
Take Our Banner

Also Posted on:

OpenLinkNight ~ Week 21

This week I am fostering a puppy named Ellie. She came from a high kill shelter. When I wrote Dog In Leaves I had to pick a picture from a search engine. I did not have a good dog in leaves picture. Currently, my yard is filled with  leaves, so I was able to take my own picture of a dog in leaves. I figured I’d write a own poem about Ellie in the leaves.

Also posted in:  IN HIM WE LIVE AND MOVE AND HAVE OUR BEING    photo-linky-for-animal-lovers

Photo Credit: Bat-Ami Gordin © 2011 all rights reserved, credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on December 4, 2011, in Animal, D’verse Poets Pub, Dogs, I Saw Sunday, Poetry, wordless wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 32 Comments.

  1. The Lil General

    Loved it! 5 Acorns! (a.k.a 5 Stars)

  2. Than you for the poem full of hope for that puppy…
    bless you for fostering this adorable puppy.
    It breaks my heart to hear of high kill shelters.
    Peace and love,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  3. Good for you! This makes me so happy! Both of our dogs are rescues.

  4. Wonderful! You have so captured the joys of rescuing! All mine (3 dogs and 3 cats) are rescued in a long line of rescues! Thankfully I now live where the shelter is a no-kill shelter but unfortunately that is not always the case. Ellie is adorable and very fortunate!

  5. Thank you for fostering, Ellie. Love the tanka!

  6. Blessings to you.

  7. Bless you Tammy for your kind soul and work here. This brought tears to my eyes. We do need to steward our animals and plants in a more caring way. Thank you for sharing this!

  8. Thank you for saving that little puppy. Nice poem:)

  9. She`s so cute and your great for saving her! Hey the poem is great too.

  10. Please, what is a high kill shelter?

  11. She is beautiful!

    Thanks for sharing with I Saw Sunday. 🙂

  12. Lovely poem! Tanka is a happy dog now, playing in the leaves. Very cute 🙂
    Thank you for sharing!
    xxx Lotta

  13. Cute pic and a lovely tanka.

  14. that brings the smile in its face.. nice tanka 🙂

  15. Awww … so sad to know they die. I love all animals and hate to think of them dying for want of good homes and someone to love them. I had a little Yorkie in England for 10 and a half years who was rescued from a dreadful puppy farm in Wales. Due to improer care and food as a new born until we got her aged 3 months he whole digestive system was always upset or colitis or iriitated in some way. I was suprised she lasted the years that she did. God bless you for rescuing one dear soul and giving her a loving and happy life now 🙂

  16. aww, that’s awesome. So happy the dog has a home now!

  17. Such a cute pic and yeah High kill shelters are just disgusting to see. Good for you rescuing her!

  18. I love this piece–and so good of you to foster this pup!

  19. Nice poetry form.. and I do like the puppy playing with the fallen leaves ~

  20. I’m such an advocate for rescuing. I thought that I would want to volunteer at a shelter after retirement, but I would have a broken heart and a house full of dogs.

  21. now that is something i can celebrate…a new chance at life…bless that caring soul for giving a bit of their heart…

  22. Have to limit my words here as you’ve touched a soft spot for me. Love the write, adore the photo and thank you for being you!

  23. What a cutie pie! K.

  24. Very good message. One should always look first to shelters when thinking about adding a pet to the family. It’s so sad that the abandonment rate of puppies and kittens is so high.

  25. great sentiments shared.

    Bless your Thursday.

  26. This remonded me of one of the best dogs i ever had. The picture even looks like her, though she was brown. Thank you for bringing her alive in my imagination again.

  27. what a sweet dog! thanks for joining us 🙂

  28. Beautiful post-poem and picture.

Leave a Reply

