Fly Back


Coming Home

Fly Back

all is repossessed
commitments suspended
paradox achieved

floating in circles
triple decker ice cream cones
singular nourishment

hallucinations justified
contrived vocabulary
discombobulation

a juncture to be relived
but the towers will never
fly back

*****************

This was written and posted for:


dversepoets Poetics: What did you call me? – Posted by  Brian Miller

We were supposed to write a poem based on the graphic designs of Tera Zajack of Olive Hue Designs.

Picture Credit from:

 My Photo

olive hue designs – “Coming Home”

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on December 18, 2011, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. nice…you captured the rather surreal affect in this pic…triple decked ice cream, ha like that…no come back towers….smiles.

    ps. no she is not retarded, that is the point

  2. Triple decker ice cream cones….haha great line. Really liked your take on this one, it’s always interesting to see how each person takes them in a whole different direction. Nicely done!

  3. I really enjoyed this! Love “discombobulation” used here.

  4. I love the idea of triple decker ice cream cones and singular nourishment. Thanks! K.

  5. Your poem gets at the feel of the picture, but injects a lot of subjective meaning which both fits and stretches it. Like it much.

  6. Nice creative take…I see we took this picture as dreams floating ~

  7. Surreal words to match the picture

  8. i didn’t expect triple decker ice cream cones…and just love it..

  9. Thought provoking…took me several reads to sort thru the words…
    as relating to the photo…
    marvelous use of paradox
    and
    “hallucinations justified
    contrived vocabulary
    discombobulation”

    Enjoyed this a lot…made me think.
    Peace
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  10. Nice write! I like your spin on this 🙂

  11. I love this!!! Excellent opening stanza.

  12. very good i was lost in the lines of this piece and the pic…time to come back

Leave a Reply

