your mark


your mark

indulge yourself
knock me down
beast-like

your mark
has no fortitude
for i am sunlight and wind

dissipate
with the rage
of my sinister smile

*******************

Written and Posted:
Magpie Tales – Mag 96

Also posted on:

Tuesday ~ Writing Challenge Two

Where you were supposed to: Create a conversation between a person and his / her sub-ordinate about living in one’s shadow. I think this piece can be interpreted that way.

Photo Credit: image: Lee Friedlander, 1966.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on December 18, 2011, in Magpie Tales, Poetry, Tuesday ~ Writing Challenge and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 29 Comments.

  1. I like the image of the mark of the beast….
    …you are gone at the end of day…..where darkness casts no shadow

  2. Nice movement…

  3. “dissipate
    with the rage
    of my sinister smile”

    Awesome. 🙂

  4. I dare you….
    the never lasting shadow.
    rel

  5. I am the sun and the wind…like that!

  6. i am the sunlight and the wind…that is a wicked cool line…bet a shirtless santa could not have come up with better…smiles.

  7. Wonderfully succinct and strong! K.

  8. That smile does leave a lot to be desired, doesn’t it? 🙂

  9. eish, am i allowed a shiver?!

  10. Powerful poem with excellent imagery!

    And thanks for your fun contributions to my weekly Limerick-Offs!

  11. That’s telling ’em! Great poem.

  12. “For I am sunlight and wind” – lovely line!

  13. Chilling………….
    🙂

  14. One of my favorites this week!!!

  15. You too saw something sinister here. good.

  16. The picture goes perfectly with your words.

  17. Menacing words wrapped in a smile … excellent

  18. Well said Zongrik! Beast like may still be tamed!

    Hank

  19. Treat like with like in other words… Better the devil you know, maybe? Very nice interpretation of the pic prompt too 🙂

  20. I love the power in this as well as the wonderful rhythm and flow.

  21. very twisted and yet playful

  22. I especially liked the title of this — and the tone captured the image so perfectly. Well done!

  23. I m standing in the living room and there was a long rectangle window about eye view next to the front door.

Leave a Reply

