Nine Travel Senryu


Atlantis

Nine Travel Senryu

Kilimanjaro
considerable challenge
try to get on top

Egyptian white sands
security all around
danger in the heat

New Zealand safety
its civil engineering
jumping off a bridge

post-card photographs
are stereotypical
and often boring

embarrassing tongues
cannot speak proper Francais
jabber ceaslessly

my Minnie Mouse ears
don’t augment hearing
intensified fun

withdrawing among
New York’s infinite masses
you can lose yourself

whores of Pompeii
reside there no more
their beds remain

in folk memory
Atlantis may be displaced
though not in our souls

*******************

Posted for:

Prompt #100 “travel”

Photo credit: Humans Are Free

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on January 2, 2012, in Haiku Heights and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. wonderfully wrought senyru – I find haiku challenging enough and have never attempted this form – I like how you’ve skillfully gone from place to place around the globe describing each locale concisely in amusing ways … well done

  2. Around the world in haiku. Enjoyed that.

  3. Love the world tour…great job!!

  4. Great round-the-world tour. I love the way you focus on something specific in each part. As they say in Discovery “Celebrating diversity”
    Cheers for diversity!

  5. A journey in & out…
    njoyed!!

  6. Wow so nicely described and yet following a form of poetry ๐Ÿ™‚
    Awesome ….I can never do that…i am in awe ๐Ÿ™‚

  7. I second Anthony– makes me want to hit the road! ๐Ÿ™‚

  8. Well done piece !

    Atlantis’ twelve tribes
    settled around the wide world
    their secrets are safe

  9. Lovely holiday Haiku! ๐Ÿ™‚ I really enjoyed it. Thank you!

  10. This makes me want to go and travel the world. there is so much to see thanks for sharing part of the world with us.

  11. Wow, I enjoyed traveling through your view~

  12. Travelling thru your eyes and words…nice one ~

    Happy New Year to you~

Leave a Reply

