global contagion


Fernando Botero – Rich Children, 1966

global contagion

global contagion
moving in a big way
i walk for obesity
right in an ambiguous
environment

social justice asks
what would you do
for a day of abstinence?
a day of sucrose-free
dihydrogen monoxide

time to grow
a little character
make the difference
between the truth
and the shadows

find the voice
to barter your
health over tender

what variable
keeps fat face
out of comic books
and chubby fingers
off game controllers?

how much is acceptable
before slim is the epidemic?

*****************

Posted for:

dVerse Poetics: Fernando Botero

Picture Credit:  

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on January 14, 2012, in D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. Ah, you make me smile. I chuckle about walking for obesity (when we have a national epidemic here) It would be nice if ‘slim’ was the epidemic instead. However, Fernando Botero seemed to idealize the obese.

  2. I like this very much. It is a well written ode to the need for people, myself included, to get with the slim epidemic. Sometimes I wonder at the resistance of people to eat healthier and to exercise. It’s as if the fat and sugar taste buds are the only ones some people have.

    Thank you for the wonderful words.

    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  3. Slim already is the epidemic, courtesy of most women super models, actresses and pop stars. I never saw anyone say Marilyn Monroe wasn’t beautiful and she was a very respectable size.
    Lovely take on the prompt!

  4. Is there a way to post this on my facebook page.
    I’d also like to include it on my blog with credit to you, of course.

    Do I have your permission ? I understand if you’d rather not.

    Siggi in Maine

  5. sexual repression poem again ~ I like your words x

  6. gluttony is the word that comes to mind when I think about the epidemic, all we think about in our house is “what can I eat now”

  7. I almost chose that picture, z. –it made me think of the Roman empire falling through decadence, corruption and helpless self-indulgence, as does your poem. I think the painter is very much getting at something wrong inside as well as outside.

  8. Nice take on the roundness of his art… I do like:

    a day of abstinence?
    a day of sucrose-free

    Happy weekend ~

  9. This is indeed at epidemic propoetions and the irony of a possible counter-epidemic sounds believable.

  10. gluttony is certainly an issue…while in other part they have no food…our world is so out of balance…and yeah kids dont go out and play any more just plug in and i think that is a contributing factor…

  11. Ah overweight…I know it well. I was heavy as a small child and have battled it my whole life. I have lost nearly a 100 lbs. There was no surgeries…only hard work. I care not for model thin…only healthy.

  12. good thoughts and questions you pen down here… we seem to be a bit out of balance with teens who eat nothing cause they wanna look like their fav. model and others get fat and sick..civilization at its worst… nice take on the prompt tammy
    (and rgd. your question on my blog..i meant dog poo… france is the worst country dog poo on walking ways…really…you need to walk with open eyes, otherwise you get into problems..smiles)

  13. I like your final line:

    “how much is acceptable
    before slim is the epidemic?”

  14. chubby little people all in a row.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 2,735 other followers

