Three Senryu about Gems


Gemstones

Three Senryu about Gems

gems worth more than gold
souls that by chance encounter
poetic spirits

shedding woeful tears
when she fancies her gem lost
musky scent now gone

pride in opulence
aggrandizing lavish gems
a symbol of wealth

*******************

Posted for:


Prompt #102 “gem”

Also posted on:

haiku my heart

Photo credit:   

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on January 14, 2012, in Haiku Heights, haiku my heart, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. Ooh, I really love that last one, though these are all gems 🙂

  2. I’m with wordcoaster on the last verse…the words are gems…strung together like pearls.

    Thank you for sharing.

    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  3. probably there is a reason why gems are called woman’s best friend 🙂

  4. Encountering this poetic spirit is of great value, a gem of poetry!

    Sue x

  5. Very true words on different aspects of gems.

  6. I like the gem about poetic spirits ~

    Happy day ~

  7. Liked all 3 of them, but especially the second one because of the feeling it brought out.

  8. Love them ~ well done ~ great shot ~ namaste, Carol (A Creative Harbor)

  9. Your words are gems… matching the shimmering rainbow crystals of your image. I love, love, love gems, allrocks, rough and polished.

  10. Great set … like poetic spirits and the last senryu!!

  11. Pride in opulence…A symbolic wreath. Much is said in this Haiku.

  12. a great wealth of words to be read.

Leave a Reply

