elephant slave


Heavy ~ GeeeO on Deviantart

elephant slave

she is at my back
talking to my shoulder
bubbly in the morning
yet she mourns

bereaved family
lamentations
disaster
uncontrolled loss

yet the world
has lost its sorrow
and i am told
she will bounce back

tears will cease
with formula
and copious
vegetation

degradation
never forgets

*****************

Written for:

Imaginary Gardens

Kerry’s Wednesday Challenge

Also Posted on:


The Poetry Pantry Is Now Open! – # 86

Also posted on:

E is for Easy

Photo credit:  geeeo on – George Nova on Deviant Art
About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on February 10, 2012, in ABC wednesday, Animal, elephant, imaginary garden with real toads, Poetry, Poetry Blog Roll and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 16 Comments.

  1. I want more…
    It is well written and leaves me pondering~

  2. Very expressive and full of passion! Lovely!

  3. this makes me so sad! really amazing! LOVE it! ♥

  4. Absolutely fantastic!! Thanks for all you do,awesome job!

  5. Indeed, what we do to these creatures who have every right to be here alongside of us shows who and what we are and, we are far from being civillised. Some of the most beautiful creatures have been slaughtered, caught and ‘tamed’ to work for us. This hits home for its deepest truths.

  6. I LOVE your take on this picture. Resonate with the degradation and bereavement, yet love the hopeful turn of “the world has lost its sorrow and she will bounce back”. Beautiful writing. By the way I LOVE the name “daughter of my nation”. What a fantastic name to carry.

  7. You could definitely see your skills in the work you write. The world hopes for even more passionate writers like you who aren’t afraid to say how they believe. At all times follow your heart.

  8. visitors never stay too long…but the scars may linger….I like the “words” here…..

    Peace

  9. I’ve become fascinated by elephants. Much more intelligent that we thought, and EMPATHETIC.

    ROG, ABC Wednesday team

  10. Lets hope the elephant survives us. Thoughtful poem.
    Joy, ABC Team

Leave a Reply

