Archangel Choir


Archangels

Archangel Choir

gift of Gabri-el
holy charge
mystical spirit
most divine

voice of Bari-el.
audience to souls
intonations to vanquish
torture and punishment

heritage of Micha-el
scimitar
amidst pre-molars
hierarchies symbolized

chattiness of Rapha-el
mid shades dried rose petal
mugwort to heal venom
mandrake to quell fiends

wisdom of Uri-el
alchemy of wine
chemistry of depression
dire portention

animated spirits
oppositional archangels
atonal satisfaction
harmonic tenors

*********************

Written for:

 

Write2Day–A Love Affair with Words

Photo Credit: Who Are The Archangels?

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on February 16, 2012, in Poetry, write2Day and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 14 Comments.

  1. For me,
    this read like
    music and words
    for a hymn…
    wonderful.
    .
    Thank you
    Peace
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. I know it was not your intent, but this reminded me of a ritual where four of the archangels are invoked as protection. Your descriptions were well thought out and it was a great piece for the prompt! 🙂

  3. Beautifully done…yet it seems there’s always a bit of humor in your writing…”chattiness of Rapha-el”…which I love. Read your response to Corina (Dragonkatet) and Wow…that is really amazing! Very cool indeed!

  4. There are spirits all around us. My teen and I have both felt, heard and each separately seen light orbs at times, even our little dog ‘watches’ things we don’t see and and he’s never been told spirits don’t exist. So, I do believe there is much about spirit world and that of Angels that we don’t see or hear becausde we have ‘tuned’ it all out of our brains until we really try and focus or center it back inside the stillness.
    Great writing, and no, I hadn’t linked mine with Live2write but, thanks for suggesting that I do, appreciated.

  5. I linked it there and mentioned that you had told me. I never realised Victoria ran a link up thingy, thanks for pointing me in her direction 🙂

  6. This sings! Great write.

  7. Great poem – but where’s Cassiel, the angel of solitude?

    Greetings,

    Joachim

  8. It reminded me the in invocation of the archangels as well. Beautifully penned, Bat-Ami. Yes, the Archangels ARE spirits. I had posted a similar poem a couple of years ago…let’s see if I can find the link. Thanks, too, for “recruiting” daydreamer!

    Here’s the link! http://liv2write2day.wordpress.com/2010/11/03/sensational-haiku-wednesday-theme-directions/

  9. So interesting! This is one of my favorites of yours. The sound is beautiful also. K.

  10. Cleverly done. Full of admiration.

  11. Thank you for this, and thank you for sharing it on the Strawberry Roan link up! I really enjoyed this, has a hymn like cadence that works really well.

  12. I love this very well Zongrik. Very spiritual, you have painted here with wonderful words the choir of archangels … I can hear the divine music.

    Namaste

Leave a Reply

