brooding mare limerick


Horse Bucking

brooding mare limerick

a mare I owned tended to brood
whenever she had to get shooed
she kicked, bucked and fussed
the farrier just cussed
as she trotted to eat up her food

***********************

Written for:

Mad Kane's Limerick-Offs

Brood Limerick (Limerick-Off Monday)

Written for:

FormForAll – How To Write A Limerick

Image from Thowra_uk

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on March 19, 2012, in Limerick-Off Monday, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 23 Comments.

  1. VERY clever…thanks.

    Peace,
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. Thanks for your fun contribution to this week’s Limerick-Off!

  3. great photo. love the poem

  4. This cracked me up. Confirmed my belief that animals live in the now and then move on. We should be so wise.

  5. This is too funny. My sister keeps horses and knows their habits well… I’m sending her your link! Peace, Amy
    http://sharplittlepencil.com/2012/03/20/chanteuse-deluxe-a-barlette-long-form/

  6. Superb. And the image is a big plus.

  7. Now this is a limerick with a kick! Nice work on form and function.

  8. i guess if you nailed the shoes to my feet as well i might throw a fit…ha…sounds like shes got a touch of the spirit in her…

  9. cute i love horses , and nice limerick

  10. I liked this too. You seemed to catch the “spirit” of that mare! Well done.

  11. The way to a horse’s love is through its stomach–always was, always will be. (An apple a day!)

    Our horses never did mind being shod–maybe it’s in the bedside manner. OH? You didn’t put them in bed first?–grin!

    • I only had one horse in my life, and I didn’t shoe her. She was fine getting her trims. This was prompted by MADKANE’s page. It’s not a true story.

  12. I can sympathize with your sad mare:
    Shoes that don’t fit! Much more I can’t bear.
    I get fussy, morose
    Like a big, brooding horse.
    And the farrier can kiss my derriere.

  13. I love this one. It reminded me (painfully) of how a ‘broody’ mare managed to break one of my ribs while being shod – the mare, not me!

  14. hypercryptical

    Lovely limerick!

    Anna :o]

  15. A bucking horse is scary
    And riding one could be a hairy
    Your mare was tough
    She gave you gruff
    So why not free her on the prairie?

  16. That farrier should count himself lucky. The brooding mare could have had him for lunch.

  17. A mare can be fun. Shoeing them is wrought with danger though!

    Hank

  18. ok so I’m not going into the whole story as its a big confusing mess, but lets look at it as a “if” situation:

    ok so what are the odds of an older ex-broodmare (21) that has not been bred for at least 5-6 years, Accepting and being able to care for a foal (about 1-2 months old who’s mother died)? What are the chances the foal would survive if she accepted the foal (and I also should add the foal has a pretty bad wound on his leg) and What are the chances the foal would survive (with the best care it could receive) otherwise? Oh and any other info on foals who’s mothers are not able to care for them (death, not accepting them etc) that you could think of would be good.

    I am not going to go into big details but the foal does not belong to me (but I DO know the person who owns him)but the ex-brood mare does belong to me. and this is totally up in the air right now.

  19. that was great! and such an amazing picture too.

Leave a Reply

