to the tens and hundred times


Metric Prefixes

to the tens and hundred times

optical-chemistry
intensified
electro-magnetic conductivity
multiplied
to the tens and hundred times

durably
super-heroically
defied
classical laws

material
conservation
pollutant
invalidation

extraordinary
transformation
several
dimensions deep

*****************************

Written for and posted on:

Posted on:

http://dversepoets.com/2012/04/12/tripping-the-cosmos/

Prompt, by @shralec, was engage in poetic conflict with the scientific world-view. I chose the nano-world view. There are mathematical connotations to the title, in that we have prefixes like micro, kilo, nano, milli etc.

Photo credit: Valerie Coskrey’s Classroom Tools and Ideas

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on April 12, 2012, in Animal, Birds, Carry On Tuesday, D’verse Poets Pub, Poetry and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 19 Comments.

  1. Thanks for the mention of the prompt…without it, it still had a rythmm and fluidity that
    I didn’t care if it had a meaning…I meant that in the nicest way…not meaning to offend you.

    Thank you for another view of our complex world.
    Peace♥.
    Siggi in Downeast Maine

  2. see i knew you would slay this…glad in the process the pollution is managed as well…wonderful flow to your words as you once more bring science alive for us…smiles.

  3. Sometimes I hear the words science or math and my mind phases out. But I think I understood your poem. I especially like the last verse.

  4. Lovely, yes, you nano nailed it 😉

  5. Having a bit of mathematical training,
    I super enjoy your astro-poetry.

  6. What’s not human about sustainability? The italics are so dynamic they almost make a second stand alone poem.

  7. This prompt was made for you…I like the extraordinary transformation ~

    http://a-sweetlust.blogspot.ca/2012/04/arc.html

  8. thsi one was firmly in your wheelhouse zongrik, and you did a great job with it.

  9. something may have clicked here for me. This is for sure a your forte and written playful and well.

  10. All you’re missing here is an equation for the potential well 😉

  11. I’m very optimistic about the potential for nanotechnology to provide vast improvements in many fields.

  12. A tour de force and no mistake.

  13. poemsofhateandhope

    you weave words together so well…just perfect placement, timing- jealous that you nail the short form so consistently

  14. nice..i knew this would be the perfect prompt for you…smiles..

  15. Always in awe of your constructions. I’m not qualified to comment in any way but poetically, but as a poem it pleases and intrigues me. Thank you.

  16. thought provoking. May I share my poem with you? http://vmemos.blogspot.com/2008/12/poem-about-cloning-and-global-warming.html

    By the way, I did the picture you borrowed using MS Word XP clip art.

    Valerie of Valerie Cosrkey’s Classroom Tools and Ideas

Leave a Reply

