Portrait of Jaqi


This is Jaqi, Ido’s friend. I met them both at the AV Motoplex  Motocross Ride Park. Every time I pass this facility, I assumed the guys riding were 12 or 13. But they really are men. I guess people flying into Fox Field think they are ants.

Jaqi is also Israeli, but unlike Ido, who is originally from Holon, a city, Jaqi made a point about being from a settlement in the South. That means he is from the desert and is probably very comfortable in Antelope Valley in the Summer. He currently lives in Tarzana, CA, USA. That’s not on the beach either. Jaqi and Ido don’t know each other from Israel, or from LA, but from Motocross.

I like this pose. It makes a sweet portrait. I didn’t ask for a pose, and certainly not this one, but Jaqi saw me shooting pictures while he was changing his footwear, and gave me a double thumbs up and a great smile. This is him, no acting, no modeling, just him.

Image Credit: Bat-Ami Gordin © 2017 all rights reserved. Credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on January 2, 2017, in photography, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Great portrait of Jaqi even if you didn’t pose him you motovated him to pose for you and gotta love it. Great write up on him too and I always thought that the motorcycles racing around the track were kids too,guess from the freeway it looks that way.

Leave a Reply

