Portrait of Jason-1


I first met Jason at Antelope Valley College in an Improvisation Class. Anyone who has taken a theater class knows that you must do trust exercises. In that particular class, I paired up with Jason. Jason had to lead me around as I had my eyes closed; I could have fallen down steps or walked into something, but as soon as he touched me, I sensed he was totally trustworthy. It was a nice feeling.

Jason is very funny. He enjoys both Improv and Stand-up and is good at either. But as all comedians, he is very cerebral. This portrait is a typical expression you will see him do in improv. He will be in some situation, where he has to be evaluative and critical, and he’ll have this expression, and then, bang, he’ll reverse in a tumult of humor.

For this project, I mostly want to shoot strangers because I get to meet new people. But  I was at Trader Joe’s, in Palmdale, CA, USA, and noticed someone I knew. I immediately had NO DOUBT he would let me photograph him. In fact, I also knew I could be experimental. I shot this on a rare overcast day, when I could not eek out 1 lumen off a reflector, yet still managed to get a shadow in there. I shot this with a Canon EF 8-15mm f/4L USM Fisheye Lens, at the 15 mm setting. I tried a few at 8mm, but no matter how close I got, I looked way too far away. So there you go, a portrait with an extreme wide angle lens.

You can find Jason on twitter on @ThreeIsComedy and @WTFisSuccess and on Facebook on Jason Dana Galbraith.

Image Credit: Bat-Ami Gordin © 2016 all rights reserved. Credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on January 3, 2017, in photography, Portraits and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Thank you for the write up and portrait!

Leave a Reply

