Portrait of Jimmy Lee



Today is the first month anniversary since I hijacked my poetry blog and turned it into a photography/portrait blog. For those of you who don’t know, I set out to post a portrait a day, for a year. I started a few minutes after midnight New Years Day, 2017 and somehow made it through the month of January.

I am proud to introduce Jimmy Lee, who described himself as “a rock and roll singer and songwriter.” He had been singing and writing for 25 years out of Rosamond, California, United States. When I was introduced to Jimmy Lee, I had no idea I was about to photograph an international celebrity who was an Award-winning musical artist, Grammy Finalist, NAMMY winner, and a spirited advocate, at the time, supporting the Standing Rock Sioux Tribe. Jimmy Lee, who is both Mayan and Wayuu, stood with his fellow Indigenous Americans to stop construction of the The Dakota Access Pipeline.

In honor of this momentous anniversary (I made it though a month of portraits), and because the subject of the portrait is an advocate for a current political issue, I will also be posting a poem. And here comes the passive, miserable excuse: Because, I didn’t have that much time to compose the poem to reach this anniversary, I am writing a Villanelle. I do not consider this a very great Villanelle…but…

You can learn more about Jimmy Lee on:

Jimmy Lee Young | Maya | CD Baby Music Store

A Conversation with Mayan/Wayu Recording Artist Jimmy Lee Young

A Flood At The Protest Camp

Flooding was expected at the protest camp.
Fossil fuel usage cannot be best.
“It’s wrong”, said our native champ

who illuminated issues with an oil lamp.
A sit-in. A walkout. A revolutionary contest
flooded, unexpectedly, at the protest camp.

“Spills, leaks, ruptures!” “Find a clamp.”
“Stop the pepper spray, rubber bullet fest.”
Who was wrong? Who was the champ?

Was it cold, or hot, or dry or damp?
The demonstrators did not rest.
As flooding expectorated the protest camp,

fervor and passion upwardly did ramp:
Stripped naked; forced to starve and fast.
If all were wrong, who was the champ?

A peaceful resistor cannot be a tramp.nell
Defenders should never be oppressed.
A flood had hit the protest camp.
It’s always wrong to whip a champ.

Image Credits: Bat-Ami Gordin © 2017 all rights reserved. Credit if you use it, please.

Posted on:

Open Link Night ~ 190

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on February 1, 2017, in D’verse Poets Pub, photography, Poetry, Portraits, wordless wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 9 Comments.

  1. Nice to see you at the bar again, it’s been such a long time.. what a great idea to feature a portrait… and a very nice poem to complement it with, I love that we can protest…

  2. I heard about this on the news last night. Great poem and great tribute.

  3. Greta portrait photographic and poetical. DAPL situation is so depressing.

  4. Nice to see you again, smiles ~ I have been reading about this protest in the news and I like your message of the revolutionary protest ~ Sad to read about the situation but good villanelle poem ~

  5. Great photo and plaintive poetic painting of the protest camp. Well done.

  6. Such a touching tribute..!

  7. I liked the portrait. I assume the flooding at the protest camp had a natural cause or did someone deliberately do that?

  8. Amazing portrait of Jimmy and amazing write up on an amazing person. It’s always nice seeing someone I have met personally on your blog to a big surprise when it happens and as far as the villanelle it was amazing to. I could close my eyes and be there in all the excitement great work, Tammy.

Leave a Reply

