Portrait of Edwina


Edwina, who was was originally from Los Angeles, but lived in Pearblossom, California, USA, had three adult children, eleven grandchildren and six great-grandchildren.

Edwina studied licensed vocational nursing after high school and then mostly worked in home-care, convalescent homes and hospitals. She especially liked home-care where she worked eight hours a day with individuals. She preferred this because she was more personally involved with patient care and needs.

Edwina had a talent to get close to people, and enjoyed this immensely. This is what made her able to support people at the end of their life, or when they needed profound care.

I took this portrait of Edwina because I was fascinated by how her blue eye-shadow completely matched the blue in her dress. I had no idea what she did or what kind of person she was.

After meeting Edwina, I had a really good feeling about life, even though all we did was talk a bit and she posed for her picture. If I were at the end of my life, and I needed to have care, I would like to know that the person with me was calm and professional and would assure me that I was being cared for properly. That would be Edwina.

Image Credits: Bat-Ami Gordin © 2017 all rights reserved. Credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on March 1, 2017, in photography, Portraits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Amazing portrait of Edwina with amazing colors&details and her eye shadow ties into her outfit and the blueis gray tinge on the wall behind her makes this an amazing portrait, great job,Tammy.

Leave a Reply

