Portrait of Vinny


uai

Vinny was born in in the city of San Dimas, California, USA but considered himself a Los Angeles, California native. Vinny was both Mexican and Italian, his mother being Mexican and his father Italian with Sicilian roots.

Vinny’s celebrity trainer/competitive-name was “Vinny Fam aka the Mexitalion stallion.” He trained and taught at King’s MMA which he stated was, “one of the best MMA gyms on the whole planet.”

Vinny’s main martial arts form was Muay Thai kickboxing style he studied under Master Rafael Cordeiro at Kings MMA in West Hollywood, his home for the five years prior to this posting. Prior to settling down at King’s MMA, he noted that he “traveled around and studied in many places” throughout his training and professional years.

Vinny’s credentials were all in martial arts. His initial form to study was Bruce Lee’s Jeet Kune Do. Then he practiced Brazilian jiu jitsu, “a form of grappling and wrestling, locks and submissions.”

I had a great time making pictures of Vinny. I also loved the studio (gym) of which the front wall was an approximate 10 meter window facing Santa Monica Blvd. (Yes, the same one as in the song All I Wanna Do.)

It was a cloudy day, so there was great natural light pouring in through the window. Best of all, Vinny gave me a King’s MMA t-shirt (identical to the one he wore in the portrait.) It was the first and only gift I received during this project and it meant a lot to me.




Image Credits: Bat-Ami Gordin ©2017 all rights reserved. Credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on June 9, 2017, in photography, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Great write and nice action shots.

  2. Awesome job I’m so honored and grateful again thank you.

Leave a Reply

