Portrait of Jeff


Jeff was originally from Iron River, Michigan, USA and had lived in the Los Angeles area for 40 years. I met him sitting and reading in front of his antique store, “Jeff”, on Fairfax Avenue, Hollywood, California. The store is named after Jeff because, “I have senior memory. This way I will always remember the name of the store.”

The store Jeff is across the street from Fairfax High School and had been at this Fairfax location for 14 or 15 years.

The jacket Jeff wears in the picture is a nice vintage jacket. I asked if it was one he earned in the military service and he said, “I love patches. I wasn’t in the service at all. I was in college. There was a time where if your number wasn’t called that month, then you didn’t get to go. I was lucky one. I kind of wish I did go because I could have served my country. But I don’t think I would have wanted to serve her in a rice paddy.”

If you’re ever on Fairfax in the Los Angeles area, stop by at “Jeff.” You’ll find very interesting, unique items, you’ll get to meet a very nice gentleman, and you’ll get to see the interesting characters that hang out in front of the high school. They might even interact with Jeff. Or, if you can’t get to LA, just check out his INSTAGRAM @jeff.antiques.

Image Credits: Bat-Ami Gordin ©2017 all rights reserved. Credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on July 14, 2017, in photography, Portraits and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Excellent portrait of Jeff colors are so sharp&vivid as are the other items. I enjoyed the write on Jeff and his business I to was in college as the war raged and even though my number was low I was never called I fill that duty and because of it I kind of feel as though I have a void inside me. Just a few of my thoughts there. Good job, Tammy on this post.

Leave a Reply

