Portrait of Todd


I heard Todd and his band play at the 4th of July event at Edwards Air Force Base. I didn’t know who they were, but thought to myself that they really played some good Beatles. After, their performance, Todd let me interview him, and I found out that he was part of The Cast of Beatlemania. Evidently, the band was kind enough to come and play for free for the military troops at Edwards Air Force Base as they celebrated our Independence Day.

Beatlemania is a professional group that plays Beatles songs for over two hours in a performance spanning their history together. The concept has been around since 1980. I saw Beatlemania in Seattle, Washington, USA in the mid-1990’s. It is a fantastically fun experience. I highly recommend it if you have the opportunity (not necessarily in Seattle.)

When I met Todd, he had been playing Paul McCartney in the The Los Angeles Cast of Beatlemania for about eight years. He got started because somebody saw him play with another group at another event and told him “we think you’d be able to do it.” They had him play Paul because he looked like Paul and was a bass player. He always loved the Beatles.

The first time Todd heard the Beatles was when he was little, but he didn’t remember exactly when. I told Todd that I remembered the first time I heard the Beatles; it was when they were on The Ed Sullivan Show and I was very, very little. Todd said “that’s a good one to remember.”

This was shot in 100% natural lighting conditions, during sunset, no reflectors. I added the sky in Photoshop, though, for dramatic effect.

Posted on:

Round 21 – B for Beasties

Also posted on:

Wordless Wednesday
Back from my family “vacation”…

 

Image Credits: Bat-Ami Gordin ©2017 all rights reserved. Credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on July 16, 2017, in ABC wednesday, photography, Portraits, wordless wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. Excellent portrait of Todd and 100 % on the lighting & background and writing. I saw Beatlemania In 1993 and liked their style (Beatles ) and their theatrics after seeing many Beatles clone bands thru the years encluding the Rutles it’s nice they are still out there. Tammy thank you for the great portrait of memories.

  2. some ‘unknown’ people make the best covers

    Have a nice ABC-day / – week
    Melody (abc-w-team)
    http://melodymusic.nl/21-b/

  3. My family loves The Beatles! I love to hear them play. I bet it was interesting to talk to Todd. A good portrait came out of your meeting.

  4. yeah. yeah. yeah.
    ROG, ABCW

  5. Love the portrait and I guess from a distance, he looks a bit like Paul McCartney. I remember the Beatles from when I was in grade 11 and a group of boys at school banded together to play their music at a school dance. I also went to the Beatles Museum in Liverpool last summer! Fantastic!

    Leslie
    abcw team

  6. Oh How I loved the Beatles, hardly surprising as I virtually grew up with them in the sixties, as a teenager, in Liverpool UK. I saw them performing at the Cavern just at the cusp of fame, they were just amazing then, As soon as they were on The Ed Sullivan Show that was it…world wide fame…they came back to Liverpool just once after that and my friend and I were right at the front of the crowd and we could virtually touch their jackets as they got out of the car at Liverpool Town Hall where they were guests of Honour at a civic reception, It was reckoned that 275,000 fans turned out to see them…The city went wild…golden days !
    Best wishes,
    Di,
    Abcw tea,
    PS. Glad you got to see The Beatles Museum in Liverpool too!

Leave a Reply

