Portrait of Ana


When I asked Anna if I could make her portrait, she immediately consented. I found a nice wall by which I wanted her to position herself, and she immediately posed. I got this portrait in one shot. It was TOO easy to take her portrait. That’s because Anna was a retired model.

After her modeling career, Ana had worked at Antelope Valley Hospital, Lancaster, California, USA, specifically in retail materials management: she ordered supplies. Ana was a mother, and a grandmother of three.

At 74 years old, Ana was a cancer survivor, and it was a year since her remission when we met. “I’ve been blessed and he’s been my savior and a lot of us have to go through this and we don’t realize it till we’re there. But I’m here. So God has blessed me.”

Ana was Catholic but also went to other churches. Her daughter was a Christian and Ana often went with her daughter to her daughter’s church. Ana also attended a Greek Orthodox church. “That’s because I believe that God is everywhere.  It’s just a building,” she said, referring going to any church.

Image Credits: Bat-Ami Gordin © 2017 all rights reserved. Credit if you use it, please.

About zongrik

For those of you who do not know the handle "zongrik," that would be Bat-Ami Gordin. Most people call me "Tammy." Bat-Ami means "daughter of my nation" in Hebrew. It's a heavy name to carry around. I answer to either name. I also answer to "mama." Some Basic Things about me: Animal lover, mom, poet/writer, dramatic soprano, photographer, teacher/tutor, CERT/Technician and, oh yeah, aerospace engineer. I consider myself "The Astro-Poet." To learn more about the origins of the word "zongrik" see whats-a-zongrik?

Posted on October 4, 2017, in photography, Portraits and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Very nice portrait of Ana in b/w and great write on her.

Leave a Reply

